+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 23 of 23
  1. #21
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    LanloyLisp's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7 Premium
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    La Union, Philippines
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Where did the drawing originate from?

    What program was the drawing created with?

    Did you "borrow" any content from any other drawing and insert it into this drawing?

    Do you regularly clean up your drawings using such commands as Overkill, -Purge, Audit and WBlock?
    Some of the objects are extracted from Revit files where it came from, and for sure I copied some objects in different drawings.
    I usually purge my drawings on each save, I recover and audit the file rarely and used it once when AutoCAD suddenly crashes.

    Original File:
    https://we.tl/PVoAojkv8s

  2. #22
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,447

    Default

    For a drawing that is 41MB it sure loaded fast. I have a 5MB 3D model that takes longer to load than your drawing.

    Well I ran the Overkill command and reduced the number of objects in the drawing from 2366 (2 not in current space) to 1321 and it dropped the file size from 41MB to 208KB.

    Then I WBlocked the contents of model space to a new drawing and the file size dropped to 190KB.

    Running the Audit command found and fixed two errors with the database.

    Perhaps the file bloat was a by-product of Revit? I'm not sure.

    My advice would be to practice good CAD procedures and regularly clean up your drawings before saving them. And if you are going to "borrow" content from another drawing, especially if the drawing was created within another program then "saved as" an AutoCAD .dwg file, retain a "clean" copy of your original drawing under a different name as insurance in case things go badly.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #23
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    LanloyLisp's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Window 7 Premium
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    La Union, Philippines
    Posts
    34

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks for the tips ReMark.. One thing I found out, saving it to 2007 version
    makes the file also lesser.

Similar Threads

  1. Blank DWG with a large file size...
    By lamensterms in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2014, 07:54 pm
  2. File size too large
    By Viper in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2011, 11:38 am
  3. Ridiculously large file size increase
    By CMuscavage in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2010, 08:18 pm
  4. issues with large file size
    By Stephen Shafer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 5th Apr 2009, 04:05 pm
  5. extremly large file size?
    By comcu in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19th Aug 2006, 07:11 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts