+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 3D Sweep help!

  1. #1
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Greendamo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP
    RAM:
    4gig
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quatro FX 1800
    Primary Storage:
    1Tb
    Monitor:
    24" Samsung
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Greendamo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Engineer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    England, Solihull
    Posts
    45

    Unhappy 3D Sweep help!

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    When using the sweep command on handrail profile, is there a way of stopping the sweep from twisting the profile out of shape? i have attached an image showing what i get.
    I know there is a command in sketchup called 'follow me' which works well. I cant find anything in Autocad that gives me the correct results!

    Thanks for you help in advance.

    Damian
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,623

    Default

    Can you attach a copy of the drawing to your next post? Thanks.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Greendamo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP
    RAM:
    4gig
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quatro FX 1800
    Primary Storage:
    1Tb
    Monitor:
    24" Samsung
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Greendamo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Engineer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    England, Solihull
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Can you attach a copy of the drawing to your next post? Thanks.
    It wont let me attach. says the file size exceeds the limit!

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,623

    Default

    We need a drawing with the railing profile and the "path" the railing will ultimately follow. Nothing else.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,881

    Default

    Have you looked at the command line options as you sweep?

    What have you tried? There is Alignment and Twist (which has options).


    The following prompts are displayed.
    Objects to Sweep
    Specifies an object to use as the sweep profile.
    Sweep Path
    Specifies the sweep path based on the object you select.
    Mode
    Controls whether the sweep action creates a solid or a surface. Surfaces are swept as either NURBS surfaces or procedural surfaces, depending on the SURFACEMODELINGMODE system variable.
    Alignment
    Specifies whether the profile is aligned to be normal to the tangent direction of the sweep path.

    If the profile is not perpendicular (normal) to the tangent of the start point of the path, then the profile automatically aligns. Enter No at the alignment prompt to prevent this.
    Base Point
    Specifies a base point for the objects to be swept.
    Scale
    Specifies a scale factor for a sweep operation. The scale factor is uniformly applied to the objects that are swept from the start to the end of the sweep path.
    • Reference. Scales the selected objects based on the length you reference by picking points or entering values.
    Twist
    Sets a twist angle for the objects being swept. The twist angle specifies the amount of rotation along the entire length of the sweep path.
    Bank. Specifies whether the curve(s) being swept will naturally bank (rotate) along a 3D sweep path (3D polyline, spline, or helix).
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Greendamo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP
    RAM:
    4gig
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quatro FX 1800
    Primary Storage:
    1Tb
    Monitor:
    24" Samsung
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Greendamo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Engineer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    England, Solihull
    Posts
    45

    Default

    I have attached the geometry.
    Attached Files

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    288

    Default

    Hi Greendamo,
    does the attachement fit to your intentions??
    Regards
    Jochen
    Attached Files

  8. #8
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,455

    Default

    This one I tried with an ArrayAlongPath/Loft methodology. Not perfect, but not too bad either.
    Attached Files

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    Greendamo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    HP
    RAM:
    4gig
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quatro FX 1800
    Primary Storage:
    1Tb
    Monitor:
    24" Samsung
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Greendamo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Engineer
    Discipline
    Manufacture
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    England, Solihull
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi Seant,

    That looks great... shame i cant get that command to do the same for some reason :-(

Similar Threads

  1. Sweep
    By Lentezza in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 19th Mar 2013, 06:07 pm
  2. Unable to sweep object when attempting helical sweep for pipe thread
    By eKretz in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 24th Dec 2012, 02:26 pm
  3. Sweep bug
    By laranjo123 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 20th Apr 2012, 05:22 pm
  4. sweep
    By ica_cici in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 29th Apr 2010, 01:52 am
  5. Sweep
    By ausmods in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 12th May 2009, 12:11 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts