+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18
  1. #1
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,297

    Default Dynamic Block for Picket Fence

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I've been toying around with dynamic blocks this weekend and I have a couple of good examples to work with. But I've become stumped with one for a picket fence. What I would like is to be able to stretch the top rail of the block and have it extend symmetrically in both directions and to fill in an array of the pickets at 4" o.c. and have this pattern centered in the middle of railing lengths. I've only been able to get it this far and can't seem to find information on how to get it right.

    A warning to all. When I did searches on this I came across some examples which referenced picket fence dynamic block, but they require you to sign up for an account. As anyone surfing these days knows, signing up for anything can be dangerous so I only could see a limited amount of the tutorials.

    I'm also confused about a few things when creating this block.

    When I add the array it seems hell-bent on getting an offset for the rows, which I want to be 0 since I'm only going to need one row of pickets. The column offset seems to work as I need it, but then when I stretch the array action, it doesn't perform as I intended it to. Instead it draws the array and then depending on where I move the mouse pointer it lengths and shortens the length of the pickets, which I need to stay at a fixed length. Also, getting the array to work in both horizontal directions symmetrically is critical to the ease of use of this block.

    Any advice would be appreciated.
    Attached Files
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Computer Details
    iconeo's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    iconeo's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Manager/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Seattle
    Posts
    303

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Tillman View Post
    I've been toying around with dynamic blocks this weekend and I have a couple of good examples to work with. But I've become stumped with one for a picket fence. What I would like is to be able to stretch the top rail of the block and have it extend symmetrically in both directions and to fill in an array of the pickets at 4" o.c. and have this pattern centered in the middle of railing lengths. I've only been able to get it this far and can't seem to find information on how to get it right.

    A warning to all. When I did searches on this I came across some examples which referenced picket fence dynamic block, but they require you to sign up for an account. As anyone surfing these days knows, signing up for anything can be dangerous so I only could see a limited amount of the tutorials.

    I'm also confused about a few things when creating this block.

    When I add the array it seems hell-bent on getting an offset for the rows, which I want to be 0 since I'm only going to need one row of pickets. The column offset seems to work as I need it, but then when I stretch the array action, it doesn't perform as I intended it to. Instead it draws the array and then depending on where I move the mouse pointer it lengths and shortens the length of the pickets, which I need to stay at a fixed length. Also, getting the array to work in both horizontal directions symmetrically is critical to the ease of use of this block.

    Any advice would be appreciated.
    So you would place this block midpoint between two upright posts and then stretch in one direction toward a post and have it fill the other side as well?

    Sent from my Pixel 2 XL using Tapatalk

  3. #3
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,297

    Default

    Yes, that's the general idea. But would it be possible to have the array fill simultaneously when stretching the horizontal rails? And would it be possible to have vertical posts appear at 48" o.c. at the same time. I think I'm asking to much for a block. I have a LISP routine which does this but would like to use dynamic blocks to handle this on computers running LT.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  4. #4
    Junior Member markwheeler303's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    20

    Default

    I have a few working examples of exactly this as I design balustrade on a daily basis. When i get home ill have a look and see what I can do to get this working properly.

    Its a bit of a black art dynamic blocks but ive been playimg with them for years now and I'm happy to help.

  5. #5
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,297

    Default

    That would be very cool. I've been doing some more work today with another block for a sliding glass door unit and it'a awesome how a dynamic block can really speed things up. I'm curious if the all the pieces were in place, could a single pull on one of the grips not only stretch the top and bottom rails, but symmetrically place intermediate posts at 48" oc while at the same time placing the pickets symmetrically at 4" oc. The simpler I can make this to use the easier it will be to get the users to take advantage of it.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  6. #6
    Junior Member markwheeler303's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    20

    Default

    I'm home and going having a play with your block now.

    Yes, it is possible to have the block stretch linearly and array at set centers on one grip, although with two separate arrays at different centers I'm not sure, i'll give it a try. I generally make my blocks even more functional, but with work around's like different visibility states, look up tables and constraints, and have figured out a way to use fields to populate cut lists that dynamically update, along with dimensions and even hatches, all in one handy block. if you are interested I can share a few of the more complicated ones for you to have a look at. It's all in metric though, I'm Australian

    It is also easily possible to change a stretch to midpoint and have it stretch evenly to both sides.

    If you could give me a more detailed run down on exactly the functionality you would like I would be happy to help you build what you need. Dynamic blocks can be very tricky to get perfect, but once you do, nothing can save you more time than stretching a few grips to have an accurate and fast workshop drawing. I have over 1500 of them I use for my work, and the list grows every week. I hate doing things twice, if I can block it dynamically, I do it after about the 3rd time I have to draw something up manually.

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,402

    Default

    There is a car parking DWG as a sample in CIV3d. It has some nice stuff like stretching between two ends. May be usefull. Bit like pickets but car park bays.
    Attached Files
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  8. #8
    Junior Member markwheeler303's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Here's a Dynamic Block of an Aluminium Balustrade designed to fit between 2 fixed points ( Brick Piers usually) that has a large variety of functions that may be of interest to you.

    Its in millimeters, but the standards are very close to Imperial, with 119 mm picket centers, 19mm pickets (3/4 inch) and 38mm Posts (1.5 Inch) etc.

    The Block only works if certain hierarchies are observed.

    1. Choose a Visibility State. 1 span, 2 spans or 3 spans
    2. Choose an overall Handrail Length with the Triangular grip on the Plan view and if required drag the mid rail down 100 mm with a similar down facing grip ( on the mid rail at the top edge) to form a AL-02 design (optional)
    3. Stretch out the triangular constraint grip (also on the Plan View) that divides the distance set with the first grip and places a node point on each equal division.
    *Step 3, 4 and 5 Grips are on the Elevation view
    4. Drag the square grip at the top center of each main post to divide node points (Shown as a green 'X') This sets all the main posts an equal distance.
    5. Array out each set of balusters with the triangular grip on the base of each baluster, and then drag them with the square grip (on the centre point of the first baluster in each span) to even out the gaps on each end. I use maths for this value (it's quicker)
    6. Drag the Triangular Grip on the Section View to set the Balustrade Height
    Optionally you can lengthen the handrail and bottom rail on each end independently of the rest of the block if required with the triangular grips on the ends of each, (also in elevation view).
    Regen the drawing and the cut list updates to reflect the geometry, including an accurate baluster count

    If you want to change visibility states you need to reset the block and start over.
    Almost everything is adjustable and it can be a bit confusing, but have a play with it and let me know if this is the sort of thing you are after.

    This block could easily have been designed to stretch from a centre point also, in fact I have designed quite a few that do.

    I have blocks like this for almost every design I do, including glass balustrade and privacy screens etc.

    The font used is Helvetica, so the Dimension Text and Cut List Text may default to simplex and look screwy, if you want it to display correctly you need to install the entire Helvetica family of fonts, but you get the idea anyway.

    Let me know how you go, it may seem crazy at first but it works well once you get the hang of it.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by markwheeler303; 28th Nov 2017 at 09:50 am.

  9. #9
    Junior Member markwheeler303's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Here is your original Block, working from a centre point with adjustable width in 5 inch increments and adjustable height.

    Now to figure out a way to add the intermediate posts...
    Attached Files

  10. #10
    Junior Member markwheeler303's Avatar
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Okay, so there's going to be some trade offs. If you need to array posts as well as pickets at the same time it can't be done from a central point from one grip, or even two. it can be done working from left to right though, with a few workarounds.

    If you don't mind arraying in 48 inch increments you can do it from the center but it requires a quite few grips and some fiddling to get the overall length correct. Another method would be to attempt to array a post and a 5 inch picket array together, at 48 inches (you *may be able to array the pickets to suit inside that hopefully) then have a separate stretch for the overall length, which i'm not exactly sure would work.. trying now.

    This is more fun than 3D rendering.. I'll keep at it until I have a semi elegant solution.

    Also, if want a full explanation on how anything is done just let me know.

Similar Threads

  1. Insert dynamic block from file with multiple dynamic blocks
    By BUrBaKy in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 14th Nov 2012, 11:38 pm
  2. Inserting Fence Crossing
    By caltes75 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 22nd Sep 2010, 08:05 pm
  3. fence linetype
    By wrmurphy81 in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2010, 12:14 am
  4. interlinked fence material
    By jkiox in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14th Mar 2009, 03:07 am
  5. Select Fence
    By Ian in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th Jan 2008, 12:03 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts