+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    15

    Default I Want Opaque Text, Not Transparent.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello. I'm applying Ariel text in model space to place over drawings such as floor plans and elevations. I apply "bring to front" on my text over my drawing lines, but I don't want the lines to be visible behind the text. (as if the text itself is a raster). I wish to do this purely in AutoCAD, to type opaque text. Is there a feature/setting for this? Thanks... Using AutoCAD 2015.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,040

    Default

    TEXTMASK (EXPRESS TOOL) if using TEXT.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  3. #3
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,295

    Default

    Or use MText with a Background Mask.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,758

    Default

    What about layer transparency?

    Did you type REGEN after BRING TO FRONT?
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,398

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Another if you want watermark style is maybe Seant's Text to geom then hatch it and like Dana layer transparency.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. Transparent Text Autocad 2010
    By Elly26 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2016, 12:53 pm
  2. Transparent text
    By MRAKA in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 15th Jan 2014, 03:58 am
  3. Solid text/attribute turn in to transparent when hide
    By ripuz in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 28th Nov 2012, 02:11 am
  4. Transparent Hatch not Printing as Transparent
    By Bobzy20 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8th Nov 2011, 05:34 pm
  5. Opaque Lines
    By jhiltibidal in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28th Dec 2007, 02:40 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts