+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Construction
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Posts
    1

    Smile Drawing Site Plan in Autocad 2D using Northing and Easting value

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have details as below
    Line Northing Easting Distance
    1 2 2554942.79 527285.17 37 metrer
    2 3 2554966.41 527313.65 27.37 meter
    .
    .
    .
    .
    5 1 .............


    How to draw these lines please explain.
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    The short answer is to observe the format that AutoCAD uses for coordinates and see if you can use that to draw your points.

    AutoCAD inputs coordinates with an x value in the horizontal direction and a y value in the vertical direction.

    Your data has Northing coordinates, i.e. in the vertical direction and Easting coordinates, i.e.in the horizontal direction.

    So by inputting your coordinates in the order Easting, Northing you will end up with a figure like this.
    Attached Images

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    hakmawongzi's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MS Windows 10 64 bit
    Computer:
    DELL PRECISION M4500
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 Q720
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX1800M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD Samsung EVO
    Discipline
    Electrical
    hakmawongzi's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Low voltage installer
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Telephone, data and cablevision cabling Security alarm system installation CCTV installation Residential low voltage installation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Attachment 62741Here is a picture with step by step.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by hakmawongzi; 3rd Dec 2017 at 02:17 am.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,901

    Default

    Open the data in excel it should come in as columns A B C D E starting at cell A2 need 1st line blank.

    in G1 type PLINE
    in G2 =CONCATENATE(D2,",",C2)
    copy this down for all lines
    in G7 type C

    Just copy the G column data directly to the command line and a pline will be drawn.

    Repeat as required. Look at post above to see the column of text.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by BIGAL; 3rd Dec 2017 at 02:54 am.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    hakmawongzi's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MS Windows 10 64 bit
    Computer:
    DELL PRECISION M4500
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 Q720
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX1800M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD Samsung EVO
    Discipline
    Electrical
    hakmawongzi's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Low voltage installer
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Telephone, data and cablevision cabling Security alarm system installation CCTV installation Residential low voltage installation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Shouldn't it be D2,",",c2 if we are going to draw Easting first ?

    Seems like a lot of work just to draw a couple of lines.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,901

    Default

    Yes you are right Easting Northing change the Concatenate

    Hakmawongzi your discipline is noted as Electrical trust me we work in real world co-ords every day and those big numbers are a pain if you have to copy and paste them all over the place, forget typing so easy to make mistakes. This type of work is State scrutinised and in our case our Licensed surveyor could lose his practicing license if lots of errors are found. The data no doubt came from a GPS.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,058

    Default

    You have to consider this thread in the context of being an exercise.

    How boring it would be if the exercise was to draw a rectangle 37m by 27.37 m, chamfer the bottom left hand corner 5m by 5m. and then rotate the whole by nearly 40 degrees.

    Instead the exercise makes the student practise reading long strings of digits and then accurately type those in. Then the geometry can be investigated, and shown that none of the cormers that have been placed by coordinates to two decimal places are whole right angles. Also the area is not exactly 1000 sq.m. Also one of the quoted lengths between points 5 and 1 is wrong.

    So the exercise shows how tolerant one has to be in real life, and accuracy is compromised by not using exact geometry. A very valuable exercise, if done properly!

  8. #8
    Full Member
    Computer Details
    hakmawongzi's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MS Windows 10 64 bit
    Computer:
    DELL PRECISION M4500
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7 Q720
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro FX1800M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD Samsung EVO
    Discipline
    Electrical
    hakmawongzi's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Low voltage installer
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Telephone, data and cablevision cabling Security alarm system installation CCTV installation Residential low voltage installation
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2011
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Vancouver, BC Canada
    Posts
    31

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by BIGAL View Post
    Yes you are right Easting Northing change the Concatenate

    This type of work is State scrutinised and in our case our Licensed surveyor could lose his practicing license if lots of errors are found. The data no doubt came from a GPS.
    I hear you Bigal. I certainly won't want to input large pool of numbers into AutoCAD if the data is already provided in a tabulated format.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th Jul 2016, 02:12 pm
  2. transfer points Easting ,Northing,Elevation,and Description on excel from autocad
    By anindya in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th May 2016, 07:00 am
  3. Gps coordinates (northing & easting)
    By NSSC in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 25th Oct 2012, 01:39 pm
  4. Help: Northing and Easting??
    By tzframpton in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15th Feb 2011, 02:37 pm
  5. Attributes - Northing/Easting
    By SAM24462 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 7th Apr 2010, 02:47 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts