+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    Mechanical 2016
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    16

    Default Change block by changing attribute ?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is it possible to have attributes that change the block itself?
    For instance: I have blocks of different heights and widths


    example: a block with measurements 120x120
    Attribute Height: 120
    Attribute Width: 120

    If I were to change it to

    Attribute Height: 120
    Attribute Width: 240

    Could the block be replaced by a block with measurements 120x240?



    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,062

    Default

    Nope, attributes can't drive blocks, but if you use dynamic blocks then altering either sizes or visibility states can change the values of the attributes.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  3. #3
    Luminous Being
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    9,890

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Maybe a way around if the block is 1x1 in size then you can make the block 120x140 using X & Y scale. But you would have to update attribute vals but also think about using a dim with everything turned off but distance.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

Similar Threads

  1. changing attribute text width without having to select the block...
    By chauncy274 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 9th Mar 2016, 08:27 pm
  2. Change block A inside block B using block B's attribute
    By Gotrekk in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15th Oct 2015, 11:01 pm
  3. Block attribute prompt change
    By Enigma in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Oct 2011, 08:10 am
  4. Change Block Attribute
    By forum32 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 6th Jan 2011, 10:03 pm
  5. Block Attribute answers ability to change block Physical Attributes??
    By Kaidoz in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19th Mar 2008, 10:25 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts