+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default Importing .lwo objects

    Hi,

    Does anyone knows how to import lwo extension objects into autocad?

    Thanks,

    mafc

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    8GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    In a nutshell, I create 3D models from the client's CAD files or design sketches which I then use to produce high quality rendered images. Click on the link in my signature to view my portfolio. I'm always looking for work, so let me know if you need any custom models or renders. :)
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,014

    Default

    Do you have the program that created them? Will it allow you to export as DXF?

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Actually, I think .lwo extensions a Bryce (not sure though). I don't have Bryce, but I have some nice .lwo blocks that I downloaded from the web. Thus I cannot open them in acad and there is no way we can afford to get Bryce. It's a nice software but out of our range right now. We're going to stick with acad a while longer.

    mafc

  4. #4
    Forum Deity SEANT's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Rhode Island
    Posts
    2,162

    Default

    The originator of the .lwo file format is Lightwave, a 3D modeling/rendering/animation application. Other applications, i.e., Bryce, may save as a .lwo file as well.

    Perhaps here or at lightwave forum someone would be kind enough to convert it to a dxf.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks guys...

  6. #6
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2006
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Indeed, it's a lightwave .lwo file. I'd be happy to converti it for you. You also can look for a software (Shareware?) called polytrans.

    I have had limited success in exporting to autocad-readable .dxf files, however..

  7. #7
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 7 Home Premium (H)
    Computer:
    Lenovo ThinkStation D20 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5503 (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    4 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro FX 580 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    500 GB HDD (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Dell 22" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,004

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I believe Blender can open a .lwo file and export a .dxf/.3ds
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. Importing DWG into Inventor 9
    By waynec in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 23rd Dec 2009, 04:54 pm
  2. Importing IGES or IGS.......
    By 76 Beeper in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4th Feb 2006, 01:54 pm
  3. importing an image
    By abbs83 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Jul 2005, 09:01 pm
  4. need help Importing .dwg into VIZ4
    By 2qblade in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th May 2005, 05:42 am
  5. Importing Materials
    By mikewsa in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th May 2004, 05:18 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts