+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,541

    Default Explode a REGION or BODY into line work

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I know I am very lacking when it comes to 3DSOLIDs.

    Can either a region or body be converted into 3D lines ?


    I'm seeing some old VB stuff but it doesn't look too good


    Thanks! -David
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,622

    Default

    Explode a 3D solid and the result would be regions. Explode the regions and you get lines.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,541

    Default

    See how little I know

    I've found a work around.
    Save everything back to Release 13 ( it recognizes 3DSOLIDs )
    Saveas R12 ( it doesn't ) 3DSolids are converted to line work ( so far )

    It's a cludge, but what the heck

    -David
    -David
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,622

    Default

    What exactly are you trying to accomplish?

    Have you tried Extract Edges?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,541

    Default

    To take models that are made with solids and make them see through wire frame edges

    -David
    Attached Images
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

  6. #6
    Super Member halam's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Posts
    658

    Default

    Look at
    Xedges
    Modelling is done with two hands, 2d & 3d. Let it work together..
    https://twitter.com/halammerts

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,622

    Default

    Extract Edges = Xedges...Exactly what I said to take a look at in post #4.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  8. #8
    Forum Deity David Bethel's Avatar
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    David Bethel's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Commercial Food Service
    Using
    AutoCAD pre 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Newport News, Virginia
    Posts
    2,541

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I've tried a couple test s with xedges. I guess it will take me some time. Results we so so in 2012. Thanks -David
    Attached Files
    Last edited by David Bethel; 22nd Dec 2017 at 02:14 pm.
    R12 (Dos) - A2K

Similar Threads

  1. Explode poly line
    By wimal in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th Oct 2011, 02:58 am
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8th Jul 2011, 08:49 am
  3. explode "all" doesn't work!!!!
    By alijahed in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd Jun 2010, 07:35 am
  4. Explode a region in VB.NET
    By IsraelM in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2010, 04:29 pm
  5. Cannot explode region
    By M76 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Dec 2009, 01:52 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts