+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    Mechanical 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default Diameter symbol in MTEXT

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Our office has been using the archquik.shx font forever. One thing that always bothered me is that when using MTEXT I cannot get a diameter symbol.

    I can type the symbol by pressing (ALT+0216), but the diameter symbol changes to another font, Arial in this case.

    If I use the the symbol option while within the 'Text Formatting' window of MTEXT, I get the symbol, but again it changes font style to ISOCPEUR.

    In either of the above scenarios I cannot then change the symbol to the archquik font.

    See the screenshots as an example.

    However, if i use the single line text command, I can type %%129 and get the symbol in the archquik font. Therefore, it is supported within archquik, but not when using MTEXT.

    Is there anyway to get MTEXT to recognize the diameter symbol in archquik? And if so, is there a shortcut keystroke that can be incorporated similar to the ALT+0216 that I mentioned earlier?

    Diameter_01.jpgDiameter_02.jpgDiameter_03.jpg

  2. #2
    Full Member Incognito Cube's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Incognito Cube's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1700
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1225 v3 @ 3.20GHz
    RAM:
    8Gb DDR3
    Graphics:
    #1: Intel(R) HD Graphics P4600/P4700 #2: NVIDIA Quadro K620
    Primary Storage:
    WDC WD5000AAKX-75U6A SCSI
    Monitor:
    x2 Dell E2011H
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Incognito Cube's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Platting Technician
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Details
    ALTA Surveys, Mortgage Surveys (Plot Plans, Finals, etc.), Plats, Boundary/TOPOs.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    38

    Default

    MText, from what I understand, uses a different coding than regular TEXT or DTEXT to pull symbols into strings of text. Some of the time, the font versions that Autodesk uses and deploys in their products are from before 2004, so they aren't Unicode and thus, MTEXT can't utilize them. Therefore, in order to get the symbols you need in MTEXT you must have the newest (Unicode) version of a font, or, use another font altogether. Ex. using romanS instead of roman.. ISCPEUR seems to be the go-to used by CAD to replace lost/missing symbols when it comes to some font types.

    Someone correct me if I'm wrong?
    Last edited by Incognito Cube; 10th Jan 2018 at 04:34 pm. Reason: Grammar
    Marginally smarter than a white person in an infomercial.

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    Mechanical 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Seems correct to me. In my online search an updated unicode version of archquik.shx was mentioned. It was called archqwiku.shx. However, the site referenced to download it from no longer exists. If anyone has a reliable source for Unicode fonts please let me know. In the meantime I will continue to search. Thanks!

  4. #4
    Full Member Incognito Cube's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Incognito Cube's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Pro
    Computer:
    Dell Precision T1700
    CPU:
    Intel(R) Xeon(R) CPU E3-1225 v3 @ 3.20GHz
    RAM:
    8Gb DDR3
    Graphics:
    #1: Intel(R) HD Graphics P4600/P4700 #2: NVIDIA Quadro K620
    Primary Storage:
    WDC WD5000AAKX-75U6A SCSI
    Monitor:
    x2 Dell E2011H
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Incognito Cube's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Platting Technician
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Details
    ALTA Surveys, Mortgage Surveys (Plot Plans, Finals, etc.), Plats, Boundary/TOPOs.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2014
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Orlando, Florida
    Posts
    38

    Default

    After a 5-10 min search, I couldn't find anything for a DL for that specific font. However, I did find this in my virtual travels:

    http://www.high-logic.com/font-editor/fontcreator.html

    Might be worth investigating and possibly using the free trial if you're desperate to get the consistency you're looking for. Apparently with this program you can load a font file, and add/edit characters to make new ones in the UNICODE format. So, who knows? You might end up learning the basics to creating fonts ͡° ͜ʖ ͡°

    Though, I'm unsure about the limitations that may be imposed with the trial version & I know my company's IT dept wouldn't just let me willy-nilly DL a new program like that.
    Last edited by Incognito Cube; 10th Jan 2018 at 06:20 pm. Reason: Grammar, again..
    Marginally smarter than a white person in an infomercial.

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,105

    Default

    To get a diameter sign in ARCHQUICK font, use the unicode string \U+0081
    Attached Images

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    Mechanical 2013
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    40

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by eldon View Post
    To get a diameter sign in ARCHQUICK font, use the unicode string \U+0081
    Excellent. Is there a way to include that specific code on the symbol list (third screenshot on my initial post)?

Similar Threads

  1. diameter symbol
    By Thomas Baxter in forum AutoCAD LT
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th Nov 2017, 05:12 pm
  2. How to remove the diameter symbol?
    By GeeN in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 3rd Jan 2015, 12:48 am
  3. Diameter Symbol In Arial Font
    By RobDraw in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2014, 01:39 pm
  4. Diameter symbol for Excel export
    By MSasu in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2011, 07:54 am
  5. get rid of diameter symbol with out exploding?
    By Ed G in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14th Sep 2005, 08:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts