+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 24 of 24
  1. #21
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,149

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Can you post the dwg. as you describe it, then it works fine here so there must be something in the way the geometry is laid out.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  2. #22
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Hi Steven,

    I went to grab the dwg. and I may have actually forgotten to flatten this one particular line.....I will assume that was the problem as I did not have the problem of fillet command just a moment ago.

    Monday afternoon afterall....

    Whilst on topic, it seems AutoCAD's functions tend to have you covered pretty well for drawing tangential arcs and what not, it only becomes a little bit more tricky when doing transition curves, particularly more than 2 or more consecutive curves and if they're reverse or not. Circle-Tangent seems to handle those ok most of the time. Then just trimming etc.

    Sorry about the, what appears to be, false alarm.

  3. #23
    Quantum Mechanic
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,502

    Default

    Its been a failing of Autocad that the Fillet command often does not work. We have other software and when doing an arc arc arc it asks an extra question to work out which of up to 4 answers is geometrically correct. It seems Autodesk just ignore this every upgrade. Using Circle TTR should have an option about trim excess would make life so much easier.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  4. #24
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Definitely BIGAL, its a neat function Circle TTR and provided it is mostly correct, I can make do when Fillet doesn't seem to work (why would it work sometimes and not others?)

    I also find it frustrating when filet has worked, but then when I go to trim the excess from the created arc and get messages like 'does not intersect with cutting edge' I get frustrated because it makes me question if its right or not.

Similar Threads

  1. On error checking...
    By LosGirk in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 22nd May 2014, 09:48 pm
  2. Clearance checking?
    By Sophisto in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 4th Jun 2010, 08:14 pm
  3. Region checking
    By AcmeMan in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th Dec 2006, 10:40 am
  4. checking the polylines
    By vivekgrs in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2006, 05:12 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts