+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Price Check

  1. #1
    Senior Member Skeeps's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Leicester,England
    Posts
    284

    Default Price Check

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Anyone know what an average price is for a basic tower to run Autocad LT.
    Matching the Autodesk requirements. I just don't know how you compare between graphics cards and such like when there's so much available, different brands etc.
    I have been given a quote as £2,700.00 but is that fair? I just want entry level CAD on there.

    Thanks,
    Skeeps.
    "And the Geek shall inherit the earth." ...Remark said that, not me.

  2. #2
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,149

    Default

    If Autocad LT is the main program that will be used, I would personally be looking at about 1/4 of that price tops. It is a minefield and there is so much choice available but £2,700 is way over the top.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,312

    Default

    I agree with Steven. To run Autocad LT, that quote is too high. The last computer I purchased, 4 years ago, cost me about $2,300 (£3,170.00) and I run about a dozen different CAD and 3D modeling/rendering programs as well as some 2D graphics/painting programs. So £2,700.00 for a computer to just run Acad LT is too much.

    If it were me running Acad LT, I would get a computer with a minimum of 8gb RAM, a current gen i7 processor and a decent graphics card. That shouldn't cost more than $1,200 (£1,600.00).
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  4. #4
    Senior Member Skeeps's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Leicester,England
    Posts
    284

    Default

    Thank you, this is great advise!
    "And the Geek shall inherit the earth." ...Remark said that, not me.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,502

    Default

    Aussie answer our corporate buy of a HP I7 16Gb Nvidia 256Gb ssd etc $1,200 Aus. We were looking at one stage at HP All in one workstation thats with a large screen was not much more. Just looked at HP I7 16Gb 1Tb 256SSD 15.6" laptop $1800 Aus. Yes Could go to the new wafer thin at $3200 but this still way below 2700 pound after conversion.

    www.harveynorman.com.au
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  6. #6
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,642

    Default

    Hahahahahaha, it must be nice to screw people over like this
    Dell XPS 8930 - £1,079
    6 core Intel i5-8400 (for LT an i5 is you need)
    Windows 10 Pro
    16GB DDR4
    256GB M.2 pciE SSD + 2TB HDD
    nVidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB

    This will run LT and full AutoCAD ALL. DAY. LONG.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


  7. #7
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z240
    CPU:
    i7-7700k @ 4.20GHz
    RAM:
    64GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P1000
    Primary Storage:
    0.5TB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Vizio 40"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2019
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,540

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    We can buy boxes all day to run Civil 3D, for around US$2,000

    They are not super-duty of course, but enough for what we do.

    I would think for AutoCAD LT, presuming your not working on giant DWG files, you could get a box for 1/2 of that and be in good shape.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

Similar Threads

  1. autocad price
    By Ramana in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6th Dec 2007, 01:02 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts