+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    19

    Question Writing text on a dimension arrow

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    In the atachment below, a section of a circle can be seen which I previously drew plus a dimension line with text on it that I wrote.

    I can't recall how I managed to do this. Note that there's an arrow head at one end only.

    When I click dimension to repeat this, I'm just getting a length measurement.

    Could anyone remind me how to go about this?

    Thank you.


  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,862

    Default

    Given that the text begins with "R5" you probably used Dimension > Radius then opted to avail yourself of the Text option.

    RadialText.JPG

    You may also want to enable dimension text to be aligned with the dimension line (see Text tab).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm retired now.....not dead. I have a few working brain cells left.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Oct 2017
    Posts
    19

    Default

    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2019
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,797

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    if you have to go back and add text to an existing dimension, double click the dim text to open the dim text editor, arrow key the cursor to the right of the R5, and type in anything you want, click the open screen somewhere to exit the dim text editor.

    You will also find a Text Override line on your properties pallet, where you can enter more text, either instead of or in addition to the existing text. To do what your picture shows type <> my text here . the <> tells AutoCad NOT to overwrite the existing dim text. You can also type my text here <>. The <> tells AutoCad where to place the existing dimension text in relation to what you are adding in the override.

    If you obliterate the existing dimension text by accidentally overtyping it, you can get it back. Using either the first example of double clicking the dim text itself, or using the properties pallet, simply go back in the same way, select/highlight the current contents, and backspace until the text field is empty, then click some where else. The original dim text, R5, will re-appear back where it belongs.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Writing Multiple lines of text to a text file
    By broncos15 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 13th Jul 2016, 12:14 am
  2. Cannot seem to get any arrow or dimension readings?
    By D1-Xen in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Mar 2013, 03:18 pm
  3. Dimension arrow scales...
    By lamensterms in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15th Oct 2012, 02:13 am
  4. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 26th Dec 2010, 11:08 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts