+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 28
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    UK, North Wales
    Posts
    24

    Default Linetype File Missing

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi every one.o

    One year ago i have created a dedicated Linetype file(.lin) for my Utility Survey drawings.
    I have saved that .lin file in to the support folder at C:drive and last 11 months i was using that with out any issues. Unfortunately when i was at Holiday someone else was using my PC and now i cant find that .lin file any more.

    But in properties i can still find all linetypes and its NOT making any issues to change one normal linetype to those utility linetypes. But i simply missing that .lin File.
    i have search in the C: drive with *.lin. i can find many .lin files except the one i have created.

    Can any one help me to find that file please.

    Many thanks

    Biji Samuel
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,862

    Default

    So you want to recreate all those linetypes without the hassle of rewriting the definition of each one. Is that it?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm retired now.....not dead. I have a few working brain cells left.

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    UK, North Wales
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Not really, if i get those .lin file back that would avoid re-creating one.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,862

    Default

    I think you misunderstood my post. But we'll put that aside for the moment.

    What magic spell were you hoping to find that would somehow retrieve a .lin file you said you couldn't find despite searching your entire hard drive? Please explain.

    BTW...if someone else used your computer over the holidays it's possible they may have copied over your version of acad.lin with an original version or they made a change to the support file search path.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm retired now.....not dead. I have a few working brain cells left.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,862

    Default

    Silence? OK. I know of at least three lisp routines that will retrieve linetype definitions from a drawing and write the definitions out to a new .lin file. But I suppose you wouldn't be interested in pursuing that possibility.

    Make that four now. I just found another one.
    Last edited by ReMark; 17th Jan 2018 at 02:43 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm retired now.....not dead. I have a few working brain cells left.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    UK, North Wales
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Thanks for your reply.
    I have searched on C:drive *.lin
    And i have got 42 results, except my utility.lin file.
    Attached Images

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,862

    Default

    Have it your way. When you are ready to try something different let us know. Good luck with your search.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm retired now.....not dead. I have a few working brain cells left.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    UK, North Wales
    Posts
    24

    Default

    please tell me how to find it.


  9. #9
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,154

    Default

    Did you ask the person that used your computer while you were away? Did they use your log in or their own? Check with IT.

    Maybe it was renamed or moved to a network folder.

    Other than that, you will need to recreate the linetypes.

    How would anyone here know where your coworker put your file? I have 4 backup copies of my personal created .lin files.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  10. #10
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,862

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Always make a backup when you create custom content as you never know when disaster might strike. What if your hard drive crashed and couldn't be revived?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm retired now.....not dead. I have a few working brain cells left.

Similar Threads

  1. .LIN file missing and i need to copy/edit and existing linetype!
    By R1CK3R5 in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2015, 12:17 pm
  2. Bad definition in Linetype file
    By Tiger in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2010, 11:14 am
  3. Batting linetype missing in Autocad 2009
    By mcad88 in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2010, 11:12 pm
  4. Loading all linetype in a file
    By BIGAL in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th Jan 2009, 09:28 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts