+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28
  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    UK, North Wales
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Yes Re Mark, i know it was my mistake i did not keep a copy anywhere else.
    i has got 28 different linetypes which took me a lot of time to create.

    i do believe that, file is still in my Network or in my PC. Because i have no issues to use those linetypes in my drawings.

    only thing is that how to find out.

  2. #12
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,732

    Default

    Just because you can open a drawing that you did previous to going on holiday does NOT mean the linetype file you keep searching for is on your PC or on your network. If you sent one of your drawings to me I could open it and see the linetypes correctly displayed even though I do not have access to your custom linetype file. What I could NOT do is start a new drawing and expect to load the linetype definition file for one of your custom linetypes because I don't have a copy of Utility.lin. What I could do however is copy/paste from your drawing to my new drawing and then I would be able to utilize the custom linetype.

    There is one exception. If your custom linetype(s) relied upon the existence of a shape file I would not see it displayed correctly on my screen.

    Please attach a copy of one of your drawings that contains one or more of your custom linetypes. I need a .dwg file not an image file. Understand? Good. Now do it.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #13
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,105

    Default

    If you have a template drawing or a block that contains all these linetypes, then the actual linetype file could have disappeared long ago.

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,732

    Default

    BIJI: Attach a drawing please. We don't have all day. Thank you.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    UK, North Wales
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Sorry dear i was busy.

    here we go...
    Attached Files

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,732

    Default

    Recognize any of these?

    LinetypeDefFile.JPG
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    UK, North Wales
    Posts
    23

    Default

    yes thats the one

  8. #18
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    UK, North Wales
    Posts
    23

    Default

    Hi Re Mark, can you find the utility.lin file.

  9. #19
    Super Moderator
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro x64
    Computer:
    HP ZBook 17
    CPU:
    i7-4810MQ @ 2.80 GHZ
    RAM:
    16GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro K4100M
    Primary Storage:
    256GB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    (2) HP 23"
    Discipline
    Civil
    rkmcswain's Discipline Details
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    CAD Manager
    Using
    Civil 3D 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,486

    Default

    The lesson BIJI SAMUEL --- is that linetypes are not only stored in .LIN files. They are stored in any .DWG file in which they are loaded (or defined... .yes you can define a linetype without a .LIN file).

    Now should have Autodesk included a utility to export linetype definitions to an external file? Sure, they could do that, but they are working on more important things. So Paul Turvill did this, about 18 years ago. You can find this utility here, along with some other goodies. Oh, and it's free.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  10. #20
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,732

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    You haven't been paying attention.

    No I cannot FIND the Utility.lin file BUT I can recreate all the linetype definitions saved to a file bearing the same name as the drawing they were extracted from and given the .lin file extension. This file could then be renamed to anything I like (ex. - Utility.lin).

    This all took less than a minute. And as I posted much earlier there are at least four different lisp routines that can do this simple task. I used the LINOUT.vlx routine I found over at the CADforums (Czech website).
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

Similar Threads

  1. .LIN file missing and i need to copy/edit and existing linetype!
    By R1CK3R5 in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 26th Mar 2015, 12:17 pm
  2. Bad definition in Linetype file
    By Tiger in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th Sep 2010, 11:14 am
  3. Batting linetype missing in Autocad 2009
    By mcad88 in forum Software & Licensing
    Replies: 43
    Last Post: 18th Jun 2010, 11:12 pm
  4. Loading all linetype in a file
    By BIGAL in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 11th Jan 2009, 09:28 pm
  5. missing linetype .shx
    By studiorat in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th Nov 2007, 10:42 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts