+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 34
  1. #11
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,845

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by basty View Post
    All dimensions were already provided in post #1.
    Please show me where you provided the curve information for the arcs themselves. I must have missed that post.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  2. #12
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,131

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by basty View Post
    All dimensions were already provided in post
    That is patently not true, because I was able to draw four different sets of arcs without really trying

    Quote Originally Posted by basty View Post
    Can you show me how to draw these green arcs by graphical method like steven-g did in post
    Only if you provide more information about what is the tangential directions at the ends or the arc radii. I have actually shown you the way to draw using the facilities provided by AutoCAD. In many instances this allows one to bypass the graphical constructions, and the ensuing tidying up.

  3. #13
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,845

    Default

    basty: In your first post you asked about drawing a "continuous curve". Yet, in subsequent posts it appears we are talking about two distinctly different arcs. The only way I know of drawing the two curves and keeping them "continuous" would be via the Polyline command using the Arc option and subsequent options that apply only to arcs themselves like Center.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #14
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Please show me where you provided the curve information for the arcs themselves. I must have missed that post.
    Do you mean you need the dimension of the arcs?

    If so, I use a graphical method to draw these arcs, not by dimension.

  5. #15
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    basty: In your first post you asked about drawing a "continuous curve". Yet, in subsequent posts it appears we are talking about two distinctly different arcs. The only way I know of drawing the two curves and keeping them "continuous" would be via the Polyline command using the Arc option and subsequent options that apply only to arcs themselves like Center.
    Yes, at first all I want is a "curve". But steven-g show me an "arcs" instead of a "curve". So I just follow him anyway. Btw, I don't know if a "curve" is same as "arc"?

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,845

    Default

    Arc data is what I am looking for and what you failed to provided. Drawing the arcs graphically as you admit to doing means there could be any number of possible solutions depending on who is doing the drawing. You might as well ask us how to nail down jello.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eldon View Post
    Only if you provide more information about what is the tangential directions at the ends or the arc radii. I have actually shown you the way to draw using the facilities provided by AutoCAD. In many instances this allows one to bypass the graphical constructions, and the ensuing tidying up.
    What is "tangential directions" and "arc radii"? I am not familiar with these terms.
    Can you show me by image?

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,845

    Default

    You should already be familiar with such terms as radius, chord, length of curve, tangent, central angle, etc. as part of your schooling. Didn't you study such things as horizontal curves and reverse curves?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #19
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Arc data is what I am looking for and what you failed to provided. Drawing the arcs graphically as you admit to doing means there could be any number of possible solutions depending on who is doing the drawing. You might as well ask us how to nail down jello.
    If you still want to know how I draw the arcs is such as below.

    1. Draw a green circle with its center at point B and radius of B-C.
    2. Draw the yellow circle with its center at point C and radius of B-C. The green circle and the yellow circle will intersect at point D.
    3. Draw a circle with its center at point D and radius of C-D (or B-D).
    4. Trim the circle in step 3 so that we get the blue arc.

    See below pic for more detail.


  10. #20
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Posts
    156

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    You should already be familiar with such terms as radius, chord, length of curve, tangent, central angle, etc. as part of your schooling. Didn't you study such things as horizontal curves and reverse curves?
    The one I already familiar is radius, chord, tangent, and central angle. I did learned how to find the length of a curve in calculus.

    The "radii" term is not common and what I was thought is using a "radius", not "radii".

Similar Threads

  1. My First Draw
    By egytopp in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 12th Jun 2014, 06:53 pm
  2. How would YOU draw this? Can it be done?
    By bbankston in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd Oct 2010, 04:13 pm
  3. How can I draw this ? Help
    By Run 4 Your Life in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2009, 08:07 pm
  4. How do I draw this?
    By Daniz in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 14th May 2008, 03:05 pm
  5. how do you draw..
    By James281 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2005, 12:09 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts