+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    6

    Default How can I use object snap with keyboards?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I would like to know if it is possible to designate Object snap (EndPoint, MidPoint, Center, etc) with keys.
    For example
    Endpoint "EP"
    Midpoint "MP"
    Center "C"
    ...
    ...
    ...

    Thank

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,105

    Default

    You could use the "F" keys, and make yourself a template.
    Attached Images

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,731

    Default

    prax: May I ask why that would be necessary?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2017
    Posts
    6

    Default

    prax: Can I ask why it would be necessary?
    It's because of my work (fire protection system) I think a keyboard shortcut would be faster.
    The realization of fire protection system (pipes, sprinklers, pump room, ...) with a keyboard shortcut for object snap, I think it could accelerate the design.

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,731

    Default

    So you are not making use of running OSnaps is that it? Did you know you could use the Tab key to cycle through them? Under Options > Autosnap settings are markers and tooltips enabled?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    161

    Default

    You can use Shortcut Keys as in this image. It's been many years since I did this and now I do not remember exactly how it was done, but you find out.
    Attached Images

  7. #7
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,116

    Default

    It's already available, 'command modifiers' whenever you are in a command you can use modifiers or overides to only allow a single osnap type but it only works for the next selected point and uses the first 3 characters of a snap
    "cen" centerpoint
    "end" endpoint
    "mid" midpoint
    "per" perpendicular
    etc.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  8. #8
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    11,955

    Default

    It is even faster for me (besides using the running OSNAPs) to use Shift-Right Click and use the menu shortcut on the keyboard, (C for Center, M for Midpoint, I for Intersection, G for Tangent etc.) the ones you use will be easy once you do it that way, much easier for me at least.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  9. #9
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    760

    Default

    Quick reference for AutoCAD temporary override keys: https://www.cad-notes.com/10-autocad...override-keys/
    Shift+A or ' to toggle Osnap On/Off is my favorite. The osnap settings I generally have set work for 95% of what I need them for.
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

  10. #10
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,588

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by eldon View Post
    You could use the "F" keys, and make yourself a template.
    I recommend the F keys for the osnaps, I have used them for years and really like selecting them that way rather than using running osnaps for most of my work.

    You can edit the CUI to set the F keys for the osnaps. Open the CUI, expand the Shortcut Keys section, find the Snap, Endpoint command from the lower left list, drag and drop in the upper left section in Shortcut Keys, select that, go the the lower right section and find the Access, Key(s) line, pick once the the right of that and an ellipsis will show, pick that and hit the F key you want to use. Hint - make sure the caps lock is off.
    Attached Images
    Last edited by rkent; 22nd Jan 2018 at 07:29 pm.
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

Similar Threads

  1. What is the difference between Object Snap Tracking and Object Snap?
    By prime333 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th Feb 2014, 02:14 am
  2. Object Snap Tracking Object Snap
    By Lee94 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st Feb 2014, 01:57 am
  3. Object Snap Tracking Object Snap
    By Lee94 in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th Feb 2014, 10:21 pm
  4. Object Snap doesn't snap at Intersection
    By dreamer in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 8th May 2012, 04:55 pm
  5. Snap Mode and Object Snap Time Line
    By AQucsaiJr in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16th Jan 2010, 09:17 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts