+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 13 of 13
  1. #11
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Structural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    35

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Forgive my Dumb and Dumber moment, but what is Vanilla AutoCAD? Is that the 2018 version name?

    Thanks again.

  2. #12
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    805

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by robwell View Post
    Forgive my Dumb and Dumber moment, but what is Vanilla AutoCAD? Is that the 2018 version name?

    Thanks again.
    Basic Autocad as opposed to verticals like Map 3D, Civil 3D, MEP, Architectural, etc… Never understood why a lot of features like ones described in this post aren't included in Vanilla as well.
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

  3. #13
    Forum Deity rkent's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkent's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    WIN7 PRO 64bit
    Computer:
    Dell OptiPlex 7020
    CPU:
    i7 4790 3.6GHz
    RAM:
    16GB, 1600MHz, DDR3 non-ECC 2x8GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon 2GB
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung 480Gb SSD
    Monitor:
    Dell 24" FS (2x)
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    rkent's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Facilities Design - Semi-conductor manufacturing
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Details
    Designer: Process Piping, P&ID's, Machine Part Design, Planning / General Arrangement. Facilities Management. Drafting: Electrical, Controls, Architectural.
    Using
    Mechanical 2017
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Lat:35, Long:-106, Elev: 5164'
    Posts
    4,593

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by tombu View Post
    ... Never understood why a lot of features like ones described in this post aren't included in Vanilla as well.
    The verticals sell for more money and the subscriptions are more money, so why put those features in the lower cost product?
    Sometimes there's a man... I won't say a hero, 'cause, what's a hero? But sometimes, there's a man. And I'm talkin' about the Dude here. Sometimes, there's a man, well, he's the man for his time and place. He fits right in there. And that's the Dude, in Los Angeles. - The Stranger, The Big Lebowski

Similar Threads

  1. new group layer filter
    By Rudbeckia in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21st Jul 2016, 05:35 pm
  2. Lsp to create groups by layer, with layer name as group name
    By Oni in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2015, 12:38 pm
  3. how to look at dxf group code of a layer
    By Jef! in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th Dec 2013, 12:34 am
  4. layer group filter
    By pmxcad in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2011, 12:31 pm
  5. layer group and general layer question
    By jkristia in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 29th Nov 2008, 12:56 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts