+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default 3d Roof solid problem

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all, Im a 2d CAD user so looking at producing a 3d model from survey data, im trying to make the roof solid, I can do it when the pitch is just 3 points but when I do the other side and extrude the roof it just does the edges, I've drawn a 3dpolyline and change mode to solid, i just cant see where im going wrong, would be grateful for some help, cheers, added a couple of shots

    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default 3d Solid problem

    Hi there, wondered if someone can help me, ive used 2D AutoCAD for over 25 years and just started looking at some 3D bits, we have captured some data in 3D and im trying to draw up the roof.

    I can extrude solids on the triangle section of the roof but when I do it in a 4 point shape it will only do the surface and the edges just move and not the whole peice, im not sure what im doing wrong? would be grateful if someone could take a look for me, cheers

    Ill try to add a couple of pictures

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Attached Images

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Attached Images

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

  7. #7
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    6,051

    Default

    Hello danHook, and welcome to the CADTutor Forum.

    If you are trying to Model in LT, you will have a hard time of it, as it is designed and sold as a 2D program.
    If you are trying to EXTRUDE linework, make sure that it is a CLOSED Polyline, if you hope to create a 3D Solid.
    The PRESSPULL command is much more forgiving, in that regard, totally random lines can be used, as long as they intersect, and a 3D Solid will be created.

    http://www.cadtutor.net/tutorials/au...nd-press-pull/

    We do have a resident LT Modeling Wizard on the forum, steven-g, who will likely chime in if he sees your thread. Understand that modeling in LT is definitely going against the flow.
    Please clarify the software being used.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thanks for the welcome, that was quick!, sorry its full release AutoCAD, they are closed polylines, i've even redrawn them as 3dpolys, i've tried PRESSPULL also with not joy, it seems any shape with more than 3 points and different z values it will only create a surface and not a solid, I have also changed the mode on Extrude to solid

  9. #9
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,159

    Default

    Someone mentioned my name! Hi Dadgad.


    There is no extrude in LT so if indeed that is the program you are using I imagine you are talking about thickness, and thickness only works straight up (UP is determined by the ucs Z direction) what it can't do is taper up so thicken will only ever work to create a rectangular appearance (or rhomboid if you start using 3D points for your line work. I'd be interested to know how you have created the triangles because to the best of my knowledge thats not using thickness, perhaps the solid command? Could you describe exactly what you are trying to do and how you are going about it and possibly attach the dwg file as an example.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  10. #10
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    6,051

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by danHook View Post
    Thanks for the welcome, that was quick!, sorry its full release AutoCAD, they are closed polylines, i've even redrawn them as 3dpolys, i've tried PRESSPULL also with not joy, it seems any shape with more than 3 points and different z values it will only create a surface and not a solid, I have also changed the mode on Extrude to solid
    Needless to say, three points will always be COPLANAR, presumably the four points which you are trying to use are not, whence the fly in the ointment.
    Forgive me if that is not the situation, sounds like it might be.
    Are you at liberty to post the actual .dwg file?

    Lots of other ways to skin this cat, but a .dwg might be worth as many as 20 posts, enabling anybody with the spare time to cut to the chase.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

Similar Threads

  1. How best to construct this roof as a 3d solid?
    By fourleafclover in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2012, 09:14 pm
  2. Roof problem on L shaped building
    By Bogbadbob658 in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2011, 12:46 pm
  3. 3d roof problem
    By webguit in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2009, 02:56 pm
  4. hovvering roof problem
    By rash in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2008, 06:05 am
  5. Roof problem when exported to 3dsmax
    By damob23 in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2008, 09:02 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts