+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 29
  1. #11
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thanks gents, im using Autocad 2013 for this, I just want to make the the front and back of the roof pitch a solid like the 2 side triangle pieces and im good to go, will attach dwg
    Attached Files

  2. #12
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,158

    Default

    Yeah Dadgad got it. your polyline isn't coplanar, if you align your ucs with 3 points of the 3dpolyline you can see from the z values that the other point is on a different plane, modeling this way the best bet would be to align the ucs with each roof surface you want to create and then use the normal polyline command as that won't allow you to draw off the plane. Or use a different modeling technique.
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  3. #13
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thanks Steven, how would you go about modelling this roof?

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    I would recommend starting over as your main building is comprised of extruded surfaces as opposed to 3D solids. I would also recommend that the roof be put on its own layer using a color different than what is used on the main body of the house.

    An example of a small part of your roof created as a 3D solid.

    3D_Roof_1.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #15
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,158

    Default

    I'd be the wrong person to answer that, although I now use full autocad (at work) and I don't do a lot of 3D work, so I still use the same techniques I would have done in LT which is using the UCS to align a plane with 3 points, and go from there? but full Autocad has so many better methods and different ways as Dadgad has said, it all depends on what the end results need to be, but if you are working from survey data and the roofs are physically misshapen, not planar. Then other methods would probably be more suitable. I'd wait and see what Dadgad or others make of it from the dwg file
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  6. #16
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    Here I have added another section of roof to the main house. I also changed the small roof at the front as I'm not really sure what your design intent really is. Perhaps you can enlighten us.

    3D_Roof_2.JPG
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #17
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Wow that's what im after, was that done by slicing?

  8. #18
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by danHook View Post
    Wow that's what im after, was that done by slicing?
    No, it wasn't. I used the 3DPOLY and LOFT commands.

    Here's the roof for the building in the rear (BTW, the building is on the TEXT layer not the 3D_BLDGS layer).

    3D_Roof_3.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  9. #19
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Thanks mate. I'll have a play now

  10. #20
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    12

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    OK, im nearly there, can I use the loft command across in all 4 pitches in one go or do each triangle individually? ive managed to do 3 sides but wont let me pick the last section for some reason, should each triangle or shape be a closed 3dpolyline?

Similar Threads

  1. How best to construct this roof as a 3d solid?
    By fourleafclover in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 9th Jan 2012, 09:14 pm
  2. Roof problem on L shaped building
    By Bogbadbob658 in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Nov 2011, 12:46 pm
  3. 3d roof problem
    By webguit in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2009, 02:56 pm
  4. hovvering roof problem
    By rash in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2008, 06:05 am
  5. Roof problem when exported to 3dsmax
    By damob23 in forum 3D Modelling
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Jun 2008, 09:02 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts