+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    169

    Default delete block from list blocks?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hi

    for some reason when i try to edit the block from within a dwg, i do the edit, i save it but then i see nothing of my editing.

    i want t clear the list of blocks that might cause the issue, i already tried with purge, but blocs are still there, maybe something is nested..

    i tried with wblock, dont know what to do with that.
    can i just delete the block files? but where can i find them?

    please note? command PURGE and WBLOCK didn't help

  2. #2
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,158

    Default

    What are you editing that isn't being seen. Have you tried regen after you close the block editor. Or are you editing in an external file used as an xref, in which case you need to reload the xref. If it's attributes have you used the attsync command as attributes are notorious for being a bit difficult in blocks. Or are you using dynamic blocks? If blocks are still there after purge then they are still in the drawing somewhere, nested! on a frozen layer! in a layout!
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

  3. #3
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,207

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    It's hard to follow what you're trying to do. If you changed attributes in a block, you need to use ATTSYNC or BATTMAN to update the blocks before you'll see the changes.

    You can't purge a block until you've deleted all of its appearances. Don't forget that blocks can be inserted in other blocks and in paper space. Even a block with nothing inside counts, once you've inserted it somewhere.

    Blocks aren't stored in separate files (unless you WBLOCK them), they're defined in the drawing itself. Once you WBLOCK, you create an independent drawing, so any changes you make there aren't reflected in the original file.

    If you still need help, please provide more information.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

Similar Threads

  1. Delete the element in the list
    By thanhdattdk in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Apr 2017, 05:10 am
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22nd Dec 2014, 01:17 am
  3. HELP: LISP to delete all text, mte & leaders (including within blocks & nested block)
    By vernonlee in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th Nov 2014, 06:41 am
  4. how to delete a block from the Insert block list
    By Brantis in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26th Jul 2012, 09:16 am
  5. Deleting blocks from block list in Acad 04
    By naghshe in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2009, 03:05 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts