+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,299

    Default XREFs Taking Forever

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Doing a job for a client and we're using the Architectural drawings to speed things up. However, speed is the last thing we're getting. We are loading the XREF's are not that large, about 3-5 MB each. But they have nested XREF's inside of them and blocks and on and on. What I'm finding is that as we use them it takes anywhere from 30-40 seconds or sometime even longer to load them and since there are a dozen or more of these in each file, the time delay adds up over an eight hour day. And in my case, 12 hour days. So can anyone offer advice on how to speed this process up? Is binding the only option to get this organized.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,600

    Default

    There was another post trying to remember and basicly the xrefs were a disaster multiple cross linked full of junk and stuff not used. It ceased to load on my pc at home. I think the basic suggestions was purge overkill and remove any junk form each xref. maybe also try to remove cross linked xrefs inside xrefs.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,108

    Default

    Sounds like it is searching for something, like BIGAL, might need all relevant drawings cleaned up.

    Could be a network problem, I've seen some firewall software that caused a long wait time for xrefs. Is everything in the same folder?
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  4. #4
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    10,313

    Default

    I routinely receive files that are 20mb to 50mb. These files can sometimes take several minutes to open, but after I clean them, they get reduced to less than 1mb and they open within just a few seconds. My cleaning process involves using the WBLOCK command to save the drawing out to a new file. This strips out all the garbage and leaves me with a clean file. Just make sure you're in model space and your UCS is set to World, then run the WBLOCK command and choose the "Entire Drawing" option.

    I would also detach all the nested xrefs and load them into my drawing individually.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Ski_Me's Computer Details
    Computer:
    DELL (why oh lord must I suffer)
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Ski_Me's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Fire Alarm tech
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Edmond. OK
    Posts
    642

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    I routinely receive files that are 20mb to 50mb. These files can sometimes take several minutes to open, but after I clean them, they get reduced to less than 1mb and they open within just a few seconds. My cleaning process involves using the WBLOCK command to save the drawing out to a new file. This strips out all the garbage and leaves me with a clean file. Just make sure you're in model space and your UCS is set to World, then run the WBLOCK command and choose the "Entire Drawing" option.

    I would also detach all the nested xrefs and load them into my drawing individually.
    I do a clean up as well but I purge everything I don't need like objects just as furniture blocks, demo layers, so on a so forth. Depending on the file size it averages to about a hour of clean up time. You would most likely see a decrease in load time if you could do something like that.

  6. #6
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,299

    Default

    Thanks for the advice guys. Now to convince the boss and the client's to let us take the time to clean up the drawings before we start working....who said that? We don't have time to clean up drawings. Just make it work and get on with it. Besides, you guys have AutoCAD, it should only take you 5 minutes to do it.....I think we all know the routine.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    10,313

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bill Tillman View Post
    Thanks for the advice guys. Now to convince the boss and the client's to let us take the time to clean up the drawings before we start working....who said that? We don't have time to clean up drawings. Just make it work and get on with it. Besides, you guys have AutoCAD, it should only take you 5 minutes to do it.....I think we all know the routine.
    My method of running the WBLOCK command only takes a few minutes, and that includes waiting for the bloated file to open. I think what Ski_Me is talking about is going through the drawing and manually deleting and purging out things he doesn't need. I don't do that. I never delete anything from the original file. I just save out a clean version, minus all the garbage.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  8. #8
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,108

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Shouldn't take that long, most cleanup could most likely be done with a Batch and a Script or two.

    This was happening to some engineers here when opening P&IDs and other drawings with Xrefs (our IT loves to change paths on the network for no reason), I added the folders with all the Xrefs to the support file search path and they opened immediately.

    It may be hunting for an Xref that wasn't supplied.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



Similar Threads

  1. uploading libraries is taking forever...
    By kililio in forum Revit Architecture
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24th Jan 2013, 07:54 pm
  2. Layer Properties Manager Tasks Taking Forever
    By edoll in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 24th Oct 2012, 12:11 pm
  3. Plot Dialog Box and - Taking Forever...Also problem with plotting multiple copies
    By D3YMO in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10th Aug 2011, 02:55 pm
  4. Clipboard copies taking forever
    By nick777 in forum AutoCAD Bugs, Error Messages & Quirks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29th May 2010, 12:01 am
  5. Taking forever to plot
    By grasshopper in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st Oct 2008, 10:46 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts