+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    4

    Unhappy Inserting Insulation

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have tried inserting insulation using a batting line type but it looks continuous and I am not sure what I have done wrong and how to get it to partially fill a cavity wall.
    Can anyone explain what I need to do I am new to Autocad LT 2017 and normally used vectorworks.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    Hatch patterns will act differently depending on whether you "Picked points" or "Selected objects". Attach a copy of the drawing to your next post and someone here will take a look at it. An image file won't do.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default Inserting Insulation

    I have drawn a line under the current layer called Insulation with the batting line type and it is showing as continuous. What do I have to do now for it to look like 40mm insulation?.


    C
    Attached Files

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    I specified a DWG file. Would you like to try again?

    This is what I was able to create. The linetype is Batting. The width of my wall is 40mm. The linetype scale is 1.9 not the default of 1.

    Metric Batting Linetype.jpg
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default Inserting Insulation

    Here is the drawing still no luck with the width.


    C
    Attached Files

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    See if this is more to your liking. Saved in 2010 file format so you should have no trouble opening it.

    112 Proposed Plan ReMarked.dwg

    Your original drawing has some problems. One of them is that your linetype scale to 635. The default in a new drawing is usually 1. Consider that one small fact for a moment. If you open your original drawing and immediately start drawing a line on the Insulation layer it will appear as batting except it will be huge in comparison to the house itself.

    Some of your lines have a Z elevation other than "0".

    Some of your corners are not squared off they're radiused.
    Last edited by ReMark; 23rd Feb 2018 at 08:11 pm.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2017
    Join Date
    Feb 2018
    Posts
    4

    Default Inserting Insulation

    Mark,


    Thank you for your patience.


    I was surprised by what you told me about my drawing. I think the reason for not being able to scale the line type was because I imported a Vectorworks drawing into Autocad.


    I tried inserting insulation on a purely Autocad drawing and it worked.


    Many thanks,


    Caroline

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,597

    Default

    You can have different insulation types I use lisp and draw plines, but as you have LT google for "insulation linetypes Autocad" I am sure you will find some. You can modify linetypes and make new ones.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  9. #9
    Senior Member KiLLiNG-TiME's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    London
    Posts
    148

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Just make a dynamic block does the job (have attached one example for you), & if you need different version just make another block using visibility states in the block editor...(could be tricky if your not used to using) only limitations going around corners butt up

    One inserted & the size is chosen just explode to stretch, if another size is needed just reinsert (this time from the drawing) again chose size & the explode as before.

    If this doesn't work for you stick with the batting line type as per ReMark posts.

    & should you ever get full Autocad here is a .LSP for Batting.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by KiLLiNG-TiME; 7th Jun 2018 at 05:29 pm.
    "There are many ways to skin the Cad Cat"

Similar Threads

  1. Insulation hatch
    By Starkey in forum Blocks, Images, Models & Materials
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 19th Dec 2016, 06:20 pm
  2. batt insulation .pat
    By meridian in forum Revit General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 10th Sep 2012, 05:02 pm
  3. insulation lineweight
    By blackeagle1245 in forum MEP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16th Jun 2011, 05:20 pm
  4. insulation
    By nannabug in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2nd Jul 2009, 09:47 pm
  5. Hatchings for insulation
    By Little Bandit in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 21st Feb 2008, 01:17 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts