+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    169

    Default Autocad 2015 and tabs

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello,
    I'm having an hard time with my open DWGs in CAD 2015 and the way that the tabs are organized: sometimes I simply can't find my open DWG!
    Say that i have several DWGs open, i just can't find it, all the screen top space is taken by tabs and I noticed that some DWGs get hidden in the corner tabs...

    Is there a way, a lisp, to tell CAD the position of the tabs in terms of priority, for exaple I want the latest open one always on the left etc etc... also, is it possible to give a more glancing color on the working tab? something bright yellow rather than white?

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Out of curiosity, why do you have so many DWG files open at once? Is this necessary in your workflow?
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    Re: Tab organization.

    See Lee Mac's TabSort lisp routine.

    http://www.lee-mac.com/tabsort.html
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    Re: Tab organization.

    See Lee Mac's TabSort lisp routine.

    http://www.lee-mac.com/tabsort.html
    I believe that only works on Layout Tabs and the OP is about DWG Tabs.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,865

    Default

    Yep, that's right. My mistake.
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,119

    Default

    Depending on the poster's workflow, Sheet Set Manager may be an option. Seems to me the real issue is too many DWG's open at once. Shuffling them to one side still leaves you sifting through the same mess when you need that "other" open file. My $0.02 anyways.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2011
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tzframpton View Post
    Out of curiosity, why do you have so many DWG files open at once? Is this necessary in your workflow?
    yes it vital for me to have many DWG opened. This is also slowing down CAD drastically as it sucks lots of RAM but I need to keep the open, cycle through them really often.
    Any other suggestion on how to make it better is welcome

  8. #8
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z240
    CPU:
    i7-7700k @ 4.20GHz
    RAM:
    64GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P1000
    Primary Storage:
    0.5TB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Vizio 40"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2019
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,572

    Default

    CTRL+TAB will cycle through open drawings in the order, left to right, they are shown on the tabs.
    CTRL+SHIFT+TAB will cycle through the open tabs in reverse (right to left) order.

    The double down caret symbol on the far right of the tabs (when the tab bar is full) is a drop-down from which you can select any tab.



    HTH.
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  9. #9
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    814

    Default

    Drawing Tabs can be handy, but I avoid anything the uses screen space I added the Ribbon Control Element "Switch Windows" to my "Quick Access Toolbar" instead as it provides a drop-down of all open drawings with their paths displayed to allow selection of whichever one you want current. By default it's found on the View - Interface panel.
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

  10. #10
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    Asus VG248 24" Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    10,313

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by cat3appr View Post
    yes it vital for me to have many DWG opened. This is also slowing down CAD drastically as it sucks lots of RAM but I need to keep the open, cycle through them really often.
    Any other suggestion on how to make it better is welcome
    What is the reason for so many drawings open? As you mentioned, having too many files open does affect performance. Perhaps the answer is simply to streamline your workflow and only open the drawings that you really need. Others can be opened and closed as necessary.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Jan 2016, 04:29 am
  2. Can AutoCAD 2015 be used with Visual Studio 2015?
    By muck in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2015, 07:56 pm
  3. Importing an Autocad 2015 3D dwg file into Inventor 2015
    By dalzielcad in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th Jan 2015, 07:42 pm
  4. Page tabs for 2015
    By Efeezy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2014, 09:12 pm
  5. New Layout Tabs features in AutoCAD 2015
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th May 2014, 04:50 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts