+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 1 2
Results 11 to 16 of 16
  1. #11
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    814

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    What is the reason for so many drawings open? As you mentioned, having too many files open does affect performance. Perhaps the answer is simply to streamline your workflow and only open the drawings that you really need. Others can be opened and closed as necessary.
    Besides the performance boost this automatically arranges all the previously opened drawings organized starting the latest on opened on top the way cat3appr wants. With the Application Menu Number of recently-used files set to 50 you can quickly scroll through to open them.
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

  2. #12
    Super Member CyberAngel's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CyberAngel's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    Architectural
    CyberAngel's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Civil Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    Roofing and Waterproofing
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Anywhere Else
    Posts
    1,209

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cat3appr View Post
    yes it vital for me to have many DWG opened. This is also slowing down CAD drastically as it sucks lots of RAM
    Is it not possible to xref several dwgs into one? If you make minor edits in them, you can use the edit in place option.
    breaking AutoCAD on a regular basis since 1991

  3. #13
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,117

    Default

    Any chance you have access to a later version? I know AutoCAD 2018 can rearrange the Tabs by simply Click+Hold and dragging them.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  4. #14
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,603

    Default

    Are you stealing stuff from other dwgs, just demand open then close use palettes for the dwgs or think seriously about block libraries.

    lee-mac has steal.lsp that allows you get stuff from a dwg without opening.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #15
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    6,051

    Default

    How about turning on the Quick View Drawings option, in the Application Status Bar menu, in the lower right hand corner of your screen?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  6. #16
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    814

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    How about turning on the Quick View Drawings option, in the Application Status Bar menu, in the lower right hand corner of your screen?
    In newer versions QVD opens Quick View Drawings and QVL opens Quick View Layouts, but they're no longer on the Status Bar. Guess they figured Drawing Tabs was good enough.

    You can also hover over the icon in the Windows Taskbar to see and select any open drawing and you can do the same for layout tabs so it's probably not really that big a deal.
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th Jan 2016, 04:29 am
  2. Can AutoCAD 2015 be used with Visual Studio 2015?
    By muck in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 22nd Feb 2015, 07:56 pm
  3. Importing an Autocad 2015 3D dwg file into Inventor 2015
    By dalzielcad in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30th Jan 2015, 07:42 pm
  4. Page tabs for 2015
    By Efeezy in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2014, 09:12 pm
  5. New Layout Tabs features in AutoCAD 2015
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th May 2014, 04:50 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts