+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    72

    Default Need help with Solidworks 2016

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Just stating a new job and had solidworks 20016 handed to me. I learned on and have been using v 5 and v 8 for 2 1/2 years. Now I am lost, and with this GUI I can't find anything and get anything done. I select Toolbars from View at top but the toolbar doesn't show on the screen. I need Sketch, Features, Assembly and Views visible at all times. Is there a Classic solidworks GUI toggle, does it even exist?
    If someone would help me out on this I would be grateful.
    Thanks,
    Reginald

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    Asus VG248 24" Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    San Antonio, TX
    Posts
    10,316

    Default

    I don't use Solidworks, but after a quick search, it sounds like your Command Manager is turned off. To turn it back on, take a look at this video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OrpVEAI4JWk

    Solidworks v8 was released in 2000, so it's almost 20 years old. I doubt you will be able to revert back to that old user interface.

    If I were you, I would spend today browsing through training videos on Youtube to learn the new interface and get up to speed with this newer version before going back to work tomorrow. Or, sign up with one of the online training sites like Pluralsight.com or Lynda.com to get more specialized training.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Federalsburg, Maryland
    Posts
    311

    Default

    Look in the top LEFT hand corner. You should be able to get the classic view there.

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Thank you for your help gentlemen. Welldriller, I see no toggle for "Classic" GUI.
    I have enclosed two screen shots for some help. I can live with Image B. If you could
    please tell me how I arrive at Image B from Image A, it would be of huge help to me.
    I will consult with some tutorials as well.
    Thank you again,
    Reginald
    Attached Images

  5. #5
    Senior Member welldriller's Avatar
    Computer Details
    welldriller's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10 Home
    Computer:
    Dell inspiration 3650
    CPU:
    x64 processor
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Monitor:
    Dell P190SB#4
    Using
    Solidworks 2017
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Federalsburg, Maryland
    Posts
    311

    Default

    My computer is down right now but if I remember correctly click on the RED SOLIDWORKS at the top right and a drop down menu let's you choose the CLASSIC mode. Hope that works for you.

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    79

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Reggy,
    I too was in the same boat that you are in not long ago. I have found the quickest way to get into the
    view that you are looking for is the original factory settings for Solidworks, with the Command Manager in full view at
    top. You get there by the Registry. Go into Google and it will give you very simple instructions how to restore
    the GUI to factory settings.
    Hope this helps you
    Chubarka

Similar Threads

  1. New to Solidworks 2016
    By gotchy in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23rd Jul 2017, 03:14 am
  2. Solidworks 2016 Corrupt Shaded view in a Drawing
    By mcpackaging in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2016, 05:39 am
  3. Solidworks 2016 making flats in my od?
    By DeadlyToad in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Mar 2016, 02:38 am
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23rd Feb 2012, 08:44 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts