+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,299

    Default AutoCAD Will Not Work With LibreCalc - It Insist on Excel

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Had the chance to use an Excel spread sheet with a table full of data in it. But since I'm using LibreOffice and don't have Excel installed, AutoCAD kicks back an error saying no workie. So even if I save the file in *.xlsx format, AutoCAD will not work with it without out Excel being installed on the computer??? I thought it was more portable than that.
    Last edited by Bill Tillman; 13th Mar 2018 at 11:33 pm.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,603

    Default

    Have you looked at say modifying something like getexcel.lsp to work with your libreoffice

    Code:
    (setq myXL(vlax-get-or-create-object "Excel.Application")) 
    libreoffice equivalent ???
    Last edited by BIGAL; 14th Mar 2018 at 02:50 am.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  3. #3
    Super Member Bill Tillman's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Miami, FL
    Posts
    1,299

    Default

    That would be very cool, but this client uses LT and that means no lisp allowed. Oh the tragedies of life on a budget.
    It's deja vu, all over again.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,603

    Default

    Have you thought about going the other way Excel has VBA write a script, pretty sure can cut and paste to LT a "Script" please let me know if thats incorrect.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  5. #5
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,108

    Default

    But, he doesn't have Excel. I have yet to see anyone figure out a way to use Calc files with AutoCAD. Draw is similar to Visio and saves as .dwg, anyway to use the data in Draw then to AutoCAD?

    I'll move this to the AutoCAD LT forum, since that will limit the use of programing.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2019
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,769

    Default

    Install the free trial of Microsoft Office 365, and run with it. Just remember to cancel before they take money out of your card.

    You'll be able to open the .xlsx file in Excel and then save it, tieing it to the right program.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,603

    Default

    Starting again.

    Does librecalc have macro ability ?
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  8. #8
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,603

    Default

    Starting again.

    Does librecalc have macro ability ?

    Had a quick look and yes no idea of what language.

    Bill please advise copy and paste a column to LT. Steven-g ?
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  9. #9
    Forum Deity steven-g's Avatar
    Computer Details
    steven-g's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 7
    Discipline
    Construction
    steven-g's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draughtsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    I work in the estimating department of a large building contractor.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    An Englishman in Belgium
    Posts
    2,159

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Looks to me as though Bill is trying to use a datalink and it does look as though that is setup to just work via excel and has to have excel installed, Autocad doesn't open xlsx files by itself,in the background it uses the sources inside excel to do that, and LT doesn't have a method to work with external files (no VBA or Lisp). The only way I could think of to use that would be paste from Librecalc as an OLE object basically just a pretty picture, there would be no way to interact with it. I had posted an answer some time last year about working with OpenOffice xls files in Autocad but I'm afraid that probably only worked because I still have Excel installed and it is that which made the link to an XLS file possible

    Going the other way is getting data out, and that would require the use of attributes and ATTEXT which will create a text or csv file and that should be readable by Librecalc

    @Bill what exactly are you trying to achieve, all is not lost just yet, BIGAL is onto something, I would imagine that Librecalc can use some form of programming or even just the basic concatenation of cells, so you might be able to create script files and copy paste that into Autocad to create a table or text items that can be linked with the field options, but this is just guesswork on my part (it's something I would be exploring about now to seeif it was possible).
    I've just been down graded from 2012LT to full Autocad 2017. I WANT LT BACK

Similar Threads

  1. Inserting excel data into autocad & making search panel in autocad
    By amb2301 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th Sep 2017, 07:51 am
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 8th Jun 2012, 09:55 pm
  3. autocad excel coordinate to excel
    By ses4 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2011, 01:44 pm
  4. An AutoCAD Video Tip on Linking Excel with AutoCAD Tables.
    By Lynn Allen's Blog in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5th Aug 2010, 09:31 am
  5. How do I work from AutoCAD 2010 to AutoCAD 2009 edition??
    By Meglesniak323 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 14th May 2009, 10:18 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts