+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 10
    Computer:
    TOSHIBA "SATELLITE"
    CPU:
    Intel inside CORE i7
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default Revit model- Door frames not appearing in plan view.

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I have restarted my Revit training in this week.
    on a second day, I discovered that when you start adding doors to model, the frame of door is only visible in elevation and not in plan view, and my tutor says that, it has been like this always. I want the frames to be visible in plan also, otherwise when I will want to extract 2d plan and dimension it, it will give me, dimension of door leaf and not the opening size, which is the norm.

    please provide suggestions
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

  2. #2
    Super Member profcad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    profcad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual - Six-Core Xeon
    RAM:
    32GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA GeForce GTX980TI
    Monitor:
    DUAL 24" WIDESCREEN
    Discipline
    Education
    profcad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Professor Of CAD
    Discipline
    Education
    Details
    AutoCAD Revit Inventor Soldiworks
    Using
    Revit 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    863

    Default

    The visibility of the objects have to be turned on in the family. If you are using the generic doors in Revit, they may not have frames. They have trim, but not frames. See attached.
    Attached Images
    John Helton
    Professor of CAD
    Oklahoma City Community College
    Oklahoma City, OK

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 10
    Computer:
    TOSHIBA "SATELLITE"
    CPU:
    Intel inside CORE i7
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    OK i found the editor and tried the option above, but then when i am trying to save, it says that file is read only.
    how do i save it?
    also one more thing, since i am using modified size of generic door, i can see that there is no frame as you mentioned. so if i want the door block to have frame, what do i do?
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

  4. #4
    Full Member
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Posts
    38

    Default

    If its read only, save it in a different location instead.

    For the Door Frame, you must need to create a Frame Profile first and load it into the Door Family that you're working on.
    Go to Elevation > Exterior and create a sweep by clicking Create > Sweep.

    Sketch the path for the sweep and select the door frame profile in the pull down.
    make sure to lock the sweep into its reference planes

  5. #5
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    Dipali's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 10
    Computer:
    TOSHIBA "SATELLITE"
    CPU:
    Intel inside CORE i7
    Monitor:
    viewsonicVA1916w
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Dipali's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    ARCHITECTURE
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    interiors
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    INDIA
    Posts
    1,109

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Ok, I will try as son I get the time.as I want to learn it in this year.
    I haven't been able to continue the model then after. Just got stuck with other proprieties.
    "An architect's most useful tools are an eraser at the drawing board & a wrecking bar at the site."
    Frank Lloyd Wright

Similar Threads

  1. Door Swings In Plan View
    By julimor in forum MEP
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 29th Oct 2014, 10:19 am
  2. 2D Plan and Elevation to simple 3d model? Revit perhaps?
    By reyna12 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21st Jan 2014, 01:57 am
  3. Can visual styles work like model view, but in plan view?
    By Cad Monkey 2 in forum Architecture & ADT
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Jun 2011, 02:03 am
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2010, 03:15 am
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2009, 10:14 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts