+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Longview, Texas
    Posts
    21

    Default Need Automotive Parts Blocks

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey everyone. I am looking for 2D (elevation & plan) blocks of the following:

    Small block Chevy engine
    Small block Chevy Tunnel Ram intake manifold
    TH350 or TH400 Transmission.

    Anyone have a line on where I can find these?

    Thanks
    ZM

  2. #2
    Super Member nukecad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nukecad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 10 home.
    Computer:
    Various machines.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NW Cumbria (English Lake District)
    Posts
    714

    Default

    I assume that you have tried Googling "chevrolet parts cad drawings" and looking at the images?

    Clicking on an image should bring up an enlarged view, with the option to visit the website it came from and see what else they have.

    This Chevy Small Block 3D Model for instance: https://www.3dcadbrowser.com/download.aspx?3dmodel=1599
    Once you have a model you can take any 2D views you like from it.

    You are probably going to have to pay for stuff like this though.

    These guys have OEM CAD files and say they have a library of Chevy stuff, they also scan parts themselves.
    https://www.semagarage.com/techtransfer/index

    Or have you tried contacting Chevrolet themselves?
    *** Out of Beer Error ->-> Recovering Memory***

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Longview, Texas
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Yes, I've tried Google. All I have is AutoCAD, is there a simple process to cut 2D view from a model? I've never done 3D or worked with anything 3D.

  4. #4
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro K4200, 4GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    46,877

    Default

    The SectionPlane and BaseView (ViewBase) commands can be used to extract a sectional view from a 3D model. I wonder how much internal detail someone modeling a 3D engine would actually provide (if at all)?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Longview, Texas
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ReMark View Post
    I wonder how much internal detail someone modeling a 3D engine would actually provide (if at all)?
    Not sure, I only and needing the external views for mocking up. That 3D place has perfect models but it is way too much money for me to spend.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    6,056

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cadflyer48 View Post
    Yes, I've tried Google. All I have is AutoCAD, is there a simple process to cut 2D view from a model? I've never done 3D or worked with anything 3D.
    Your profile says that you are using Autocad LT?
    Is that correct?
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  7. #7
    Super Moderator SLW210's Avatar
    Computer Details
    SLW210's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 PRO 64-bit
    Computer:
    IBM Lenovo
    Motherboard:
    ACPI x64
    CPU:
    Pentium(R) i5 4570 @ 3.2GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB RAM
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro 600 1GB
    Primary Storage:
    300 GB
    Secondary Storage:
    650GB
    Monitor:
    2x ThinkVision 24"
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    SLW210's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Draftsman
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Mostly do drafting related to manufacturing. From doing site layouts with proposed updates, additions and renovations to be budgeted and submitted for bid, to updating and changing existing drawings to reflect maintenance and repair/revision work done on site.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2018
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    12,127

    Default

    Check out THIS SITE.
    “A narrow mind and a fat head invariably come on the same person” Zig Zigler



  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Longview, Texas
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Is there anyone I could email the 3D files to and send me back the plan and elevation 2D views of the complete engine/transmission?

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Super Member nukecad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nukecad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win 10 home.
    Computer:
    Various machines.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2000i
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    NW Cumbria (English Lake District)
    Posts
    714

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dadgad View Post
    Your profile says that you are using Autocad LT?
    Is that correct?
    Oops, I hadn't noticed that.
    Obviously very important question.
    *** Out of Beer Error ->-> Recovering Memory***

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Discipline
    Mechanical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Longview, Texas
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by nukecad View Post
    Oops, I hadn't noticed that.
    Obviously very important question.
    Yes, 2015 LT

Similar Threads

  1. Masking Parts of Blocks
    By dal-designs in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 12th Aug 2014, 04:36 pm
  2. Blocks with Parts References
    By Weatherman in forum Mechanical & MDT
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25th Nov 2009, 04:44 pm
  3. Hide parts of blocks
    By DWG Destroyer in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th Sep 2009, 01:52 pm
  4. Help - where is the Automotive Set?
    By neo_26 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27th Aug 2008, 02:39 am
  5. automotive design
    By 762nato in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 1st Mar 2007, 10:41 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts