Join objects to reduce size in 2d dwg file?

Mr newbie

I am a complete newbie with cad. I have received 2d dwg of a factory floor that i will use as a background drawing in another program. The problem is that the dwg is very big/heavy and therefor my other program gets slow. There is a lot of machines drawn as 2d shapes with a lot of lines that layer seems to be the biggest by far.

I have tried some pointers that i found online. Purge,overkill and so on it helped a bit but the drawing is still slow/big. I was wondering if there was a way to make the machines into one giant object like a picture or similar to make the drawing smaller and therefor faster to load?

There is no need for me to keep the original cad objects i only need a smaller dwg for my other program and use the drawing as a dead background.

One strategy is to make blocks out of shapes that occur often. If there's one type of machine, or just a few types, you can replace them with blocks.

Because blocks are stored and used more efficiently, consider shoveling sections of the drawing into blocks.

A third strategy is to put the "background" in a separate drawing and then add it to your drawing as an xref (external reference).

You certainly can convert the background to an image or a pdf and insert that. I would recommend including a scale in it so that you can insert it properly.

Those are a few of the most simple tools. I'm sure you'll get more suggestions.

• 3 weeks later...

If it is just a simple outline of the factory floor you require then you can draw a poly line. I create a new layer with a bright colour. I then set this layer as current and draw a poly line around the perimeter. once created Copy it. Got to the drawing you want it in and paste it. You can get really clever and copy with base point. I type my commands at the command line but im sure it will be available from the ribbon/toolbar/menus. Use AutoCAD help for a more detailed explanation.