+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member Siberian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Siberian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Siberian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer, HVAC
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    478

    Default Do I need rfa-files for pipe segements?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I've got some rfa-files for pipe parts from a manufacturer. However, I only have files for the parts - not the pipe itself - is that an issue? Or are rfa-files for pipe segments unneeded as a pipe is just a cylindrical object with a given diameter anyway?

    Currently I've tried to only use the part files and duplicated and edited one of the pipe segments that comes with Revit to fit with my parts' diameter. Is that the way to go?
    If at first you don't succeed - remove all evidence you ever tried.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,135

    Default

    First, you need to understand the difference in a Loadable Family versus a System Family. Reference here:
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...B3BA2-htm.html

    Essentially, these "pipe parts" you're referring to (Pipe Accessories or Pipe Fittings is the proper category term in Revit) can be loaded in and used. Revit's pipe families are pre-defined in Revit - it's hard coded in and is always there. You don't load it in and you cannot remove it.

    Pipe is defined in the Manage Ribbon > MEP Settings > Mechanical Settings > Pipe Settings > Segments and Sizes. This is where you can get the material catalog of ID/OD pipe sizes and define them as needed.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Siberian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Siberian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Siberian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer, HVAC
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    478

    Default

    Thanks. So the answer to my second question is yes then? What I've got are files that are to be loaded, and I am able to do this and set up a routing preference using these parts/files, but for some reason I'm only able to draw a straight pipe segment. As soon as a part is to be used the cursor only shows the prohibited-symbol. Not sure what's wrong...
    If at first you don't succeed - remove all evidence you ever tried.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,135

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I would double check the routing preferences to ensure you have this set up properly. Just because it's manufacturer's content doesn't mean it's going to work - there are many cases where manufacturer's content is broken and is why most seasoned Revit MEP users will not use most downloadable content, instead opting for editing stock content.

    Also, consider defaults for now to get you going if you are new to Revit. I would get used to Revit first with defaults rather than fight the platform with outside content that only creates more headaches.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. Pipe Bends and pipe edge lines are missing
    By Ramana in forum Revit MEP
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27th Dec 2016, 07:46 pm
  2. Pipe Runs Tube& Pipe
    By Zac Davis in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7th Aug 2015, 07:48 pm
  3. How To Add Pipe Catalog To Pressure Pipe Networks?
    By MillerMG in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22nd Dec 2014, 09:07 pm
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11th Jul 2012, 01:04 pm
  5. Combine vector line segements
    By Ekim Fitzgerald in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19th Dec 2008, 09:48 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts