Drawing lines in revit

Jessica28

Hello. I am running revit MEP 2017...I am fairly new to revit but am learning...I'm attaching a little picture of what i am trying to accomplish. it's a simple line with 2 segments. I need to add those 2 lines together and then add other numbers to that. I am trying to cut down on the amount of adding i have to do and also to stay out of the scheduling as much as possible. Too much data input. I just want to know if there is an easier way to get the full length of the line like a pline in autocad? Sometimes these lines have 3 turns or 4 and i'd rather stay focused on the drawing than having to go to a schedule that i know can do it for me too...Out of all the things i've had to get used to while transitioning to Revit, this one has to be the most annoying. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Jess

lines.PNG

Sure. That's great. But now we're drawing a line that needs to appear and then applying another command to get the overall length. On an average job there are line 300 lines to do this to. That's a lot of added work. Unbelievable how great revit can be and how cumbersome it can be at the same time. I did drawings in cad in half the time. Just had to think more when it came tomschedules due to the fact that revit does the schedules so nicely for me. Think more and risk errors in cad in half the time? Or take twice as long in revit and think less. I wish it was that easy because they want revit to be used. I like revit. Just had it's drawbacks. Wish I could get this little issue to go smoother. Someone needs to leave autodesk and make a better aoftware for prefab.

If you're using Lines in Revit to begin with, you're probably doing it wrong. Many ways to solve this problem if you'll give up AutoCAD ways in a program that is not AutoCAD. AutoCAD is literally a program that was built to use.... "lines". Revit is not, so you'll need to find a different way.