+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    DDJL's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5

    Default Diesel Field Expression

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    By changing the numbers at the end first Diesel code of I can pass a part of the layout name to a field for a sheet number.


    $(substr,$(getvar,ctab),$(-,$(strlen,$(getvar,ctab)),0),1)


    By naming a layout tab "1" or "2" I can use the second Diesel code to select between two different addresses and pass one or the other to an address field.


    $(if,$(eq,$(getvar,ctab),1),"building 1",$(if,$(eq,$(getvar,ctab),2),"building 2"))


    Is it possible to combine the first Diesel code with the second Diesel code so that I can use the first part of ONE layout tab to select a sheet number field, and the end part of the SAME layout tab would act as a pointer to select an address?


    For example if the layout tab text was "A-1 1"
    then the sheet number would be "A-1"
    and the address field would be "building 1".

  2. #2
    Senior Member zaphod's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    175

    Default

    Yes, here is a drawing with an example of only the fields.
    Attached Files

  3. #3
    Super Member
    Computer Details
    tombu's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64-bit
    Computer:
    Dell
    Discipline
    Civil
    tombu's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Analyst
    Discipline
    Civil
    Details
    Small Street & Stormwater projects. Traffic Calming and other issues.
    Using
    Civil 3D 2018
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    814

    Default

    Lee Mac has something you should take a look at: http://www.lee-mac.com/layoutfield.html
    Layer 0 for ByBlock Block entities, everything else ByLayer. So many issues can be solved with good templates.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    DDJL's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Using
    MEP 2018
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    ZAPHOD


    You pointed me in the right direction and helped me solve my problem


    Thanks
    DDJL

Similar Threads

  1. Linked file - field / diesel expression
    By monk in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2014, 12:03 pm
  2. Diesel Expression
    By Gentile Romano in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th Dec 2013, 02:54 pm
  3. diesel expression.
    By Dormant in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20th Dec 2011, 08:34 pm
  4. Can a Diesel Expression in a field be updated.
    By muck in forum .NET, ObjectARX & VBA
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 21st Feb 2011, 04:10 pm
  5. Field or Diesel expression for view name
    By TuFoFi in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2007, 12:36 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts