+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    RobertR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 3020
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4590 @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD PM851 128GB ATA
    Monitor:
    (2) 22" Viewsonics
    Discipline
    Architectural
    RobertR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draftsman II
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    steel panel systems for roofs, walls & soffits
    Using
    AutoCAD 2019
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bossier City, LA, USA
    Posts
    11

    Default Locked viewport acts unlocked

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Dell Optiplex 3020
    AutoCAD 2019 updated (P.61.0.0 AutoCAD 2019.0.1)
    Logitech M500 corded mouse

    I am in paperspace, zooming in and out, copying item tag blocks over a locked viewport.
    The view in the viewport will suddenly act as if I am IN an unlocked viewport and zooms out/pans.
    Hitting undo a few times gets it back to the right view. It only happens occasionally and only since I upgraded to 2019. As 2018 got buggy and kept crashing, I can't go back to it.


    Saved/exited/reopened the drawing...still does it.
    Purge...still does it.
    Audit...still does it.
    Dxfout & open dxf...still does it.

    I notice that whenever it happens, the viewport goes from
    Annotation scale: 3/32 = 1'-0", Standard scale: 3/32 = 1'-0", Custom scale: 0"
    to
    Annotation scale: 3/32 = 1'-0", Standard scale: Custom, Custom scale: 0"


    Attached is the drawing saves as 2013
    Attached Files

  2. #2
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z240
    CPU:
    i7-7700k @ 4.20GHz
    RAM:
    64GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P1000
    Primary Storage:
    0.5TB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Vizio 40"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2019
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,557

    Default

    Could it be that you're executing the VPMAX mode?
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  3. #3
    Luminous Being Dadgad's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Location
    At the confluence of worthlessness & invaluability
    Posts
    6,049

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    Could it be that you're executing the VPMAX mode?

    +1 That sounds like a good hypothesis rk.
    Volume and repetition do not validate opinions forged in the absence of thought.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2019
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,769

    Default

    IMHO, you have accidentally activated the viewport. There is nothing wrong with your dwg file. Double clicking anywhere inside the viewport frame, on purpose or not, will move you to modelspace through the viewport whether it is locked or not. If the viewport is in the maximized state, you can zoom, Pan, and edit all over modelspace at will even if the viewport is locked. If the viewport is not maximized, and is locked, you will not be able to zoom, or pan, but you will be able to edit objects you can select in that view.

    If you are already zoomed far enough when the viewport is activated, VPMAX occurs automatically because AutoCad thinks that is what you want. I do think the automatic nature of this is a 2019 thing, but it is not a bug. My 2019 does it to, and I often use it. Since my average layout count is in the triple digits, it is a serious PITA to keep going back to full modelspace to edit stuff.

    While the viewport is maximized, you will be able to zoom and pan, and edit modelspace at will, as if the viewport is not locked, and this part has always been the case.

    Undo is not necessary. Simply type PS then hit enter to return to paperspace, or click the modelspace/paperspace toggle button on the taskbar. Once in paperspace again, the viewport automatically returns to the locked scale and paperspace zoom level you were at originally.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    RobertR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 3020
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4590 @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD PM851 128GB ATA
    Monitor:
    (2) 22" Viewsonics
    Discipline
    Architectural
    RobertR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draftsman II
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    steel panel systems for roofs, walls & soffits
    Using
    AutoCAD 2019
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bossier City, LA, USA
    Posts
    11

    Default

    All good theories and I have done that before. However, in this case I am still in paperspace. Zooming out with the mouse wheel shows the viewport and title block. As I copy the item tags (in paperspace), the locked viewport will pan/zoom without me even entering it. I am wondering if it's simply a graphics issue. My work didn't buy a graphics card and I am using the onboard "Intel HD Graphics 4600".

  6. #6
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2019
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,769

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobertR View Post
    All good theories and I have done that before. However, in this case I am still in paperspace. Zooming out with the mouse wheel shows the viewport and title block. As I copy the item tags (in paperspace), the locked viewport will pan/zoom without me even entering it. I am wondering if it's simply a graphics issue. My work didn't buy a graphics card and I am using the onboard "Intel HD Graphics 4600".
    Oh, ok since you are definitely in paperspace, it may well be the graphics card delaying the viewport image as the rest of the screen moves around, or vice-versa. I have witnessed similar behavior on my home computer running 2018 LT with only the on board chip. An on board graphics chip simply will not handle the current processing needs of AutoCad. Someone needs to inform your company of the AutoCad system requirements.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    RobertR's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 3020
    CPU:
    Intel Core i5-4590 @ 3.30GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Intel HD Graphics 4600
    Primary Storage:
    Samsung SSD PM851 128GB ATA
    Monitor:
    (2) 22" Viewsonics
    Discipline
    Architectural
    RobertR's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Draftsman II
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    steel panel systems for roofs, walls & soffits
    Using
    AutoCAD 2019
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Bossier City, LA, USA
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I've laid my case before my boss and he agreed. New graphics card for everyone!

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 2nd Feb 2012, 12:07 am
  2. Unlocked Viewport - Zoom Extents
    By dej-b&v in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 23rd Dec 2010, 08:30 pm
  3. Locked Viewport
    By SteveB in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 7th Jul 2009, 07:01 pm
  4. Locked or Unlocked?
    By JaketheMan in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th Feb 2009, 10:57 pm
  5. Locked Viewport
    By solofusion in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2007, 05:29 pm

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts