+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default Which graphics card?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hey,

    I have been looking for a laptop to run AutoCAD 2018. I am wondering whether gaming laptops will be suitable enough to run AutoCAD 2018 without any problems? Will the graphics card be suitable enough for the 2D and 3D?

    i dont want to buy a laptop, load the software and then get a message saying the graphics card is not suitable!

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Computer Details
    rkmcswain's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    HP Z240
    CPU:
    i7-7700k @ 4.20GHz
    RAM:
    64GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Quadro P1000
    Primary Storage:
    0.5TB SSD
    Secondary Storage:
    1TB SATA
    Monitor:
    Vizio 40"
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    Civil 3D 2019
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Houston
    Posts
    4,556

    Default

    Go here, and it will tell you what cards are certified for the hardware and O/S you want to run:
    https://knowledge.autodesk.com/certi...phics-hardware
    R.K. McSwain
    CAD Panacea | twitter

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Discipline
    Civil
    Using
    AutoCAD not applicable
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    5

    Default

    Ive had a look on that link but cannot find many laptops with those graphic cards. Only laptops i can find are ones with geforce gtx 1050

  4. #4
    Super Moderator f700es's Avatar
    Computer Details
    f700es's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro (W)/Windows 10 (H)
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 9020 (W)/ Dell Inspiron 570 (H)
    Motherboard:
    Intel (W)/AMD (H)
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-4770 quad (W)/AMD Athlon 2 X4 (H)
    RAM:
    16 GB DDR3 (W)/ 6GB DDR3 (H)
    Graphics:
    nVidia Geforce GTX 645 (W)/nVidia GF GT430 (H)
    Primary Storage:
    256 gb SSD 0/ 1TB 1 (W)/1 TB (H)
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate FreeAgent Go 320gb
    Monitor:
    Samsung P2770HD 28" LCD and Samsung B2430 (W)/Acer 28" LCD (H)
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    f700es's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Space Database Admin
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Details
    Archibus Management, Space planning, Design
    Using
    AutoCAD 2017
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Location
    Winston-Salem, NC - USA
    Posts
    5,657

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    ANY GTX 1050 or above will be just fine. One of the biggest myths in CAD is that you need a quadro card for AutoCAD usage.
    my son is starting mech engineering at UNC Charlotte in the fall and I bought him a Dell Inspiron gaming for school. Core i7 7 series quad HT, 8 gb ram, 120 M.2 PCIe ssd, 1 tb hdd and 4 gb GTX1050.
    Please do not PM me with CAD questions. Post your question on the forum. Our users are the best out there and you'll get the best possible answer to your question.

    - http://f700es.deviantart.com/gallery/ -


Similar Threads

  1. Graphics card
    By iainlines in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 39
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2013, 11:00 pm
  2. Graphics card for 2d cad.
    By darylt in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 1st May 2010, 12:07 am
  3. graphics card
    By b.muqlueen in forum Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Dec 2007, 11:25 pm
  4. My Graphics Card??
    By ChrisRose in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 12th Nov 2007, 06:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts