+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Fence linetype

  1. #1
    Senior Member Casusa's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Casusa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Intel Core I7-4770 Cpu - 3,40 GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    Monitor:
    Asus VW246H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    147

    Default Fence linetype

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi.
    I've been trying to create a fence linetype, like this:





    But something is going wrong that I can not do it.



    Someone has one made or can do one and post it here?


    Many thanks.
    Attached Images

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,146

    Default

    Can you post any linetype definition file that you are working on?

    Have you any dimensions in mind?

    It should be quite easy with an Arial Text Style, but there is so much variance in dimensions, that a lead from you could make it more useful to you.

    Here is a picture of one that I did earlier.
    Attached Images

  3. #3
    Senior Member Casusa's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Casusa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Intel Core I7-4770 Cpu - 3,40 GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    Monitor:
    Asus VW246H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Hi eldon.



    The dimension would be for a 1/100 scale.

    I mean like my picture.



    I do not have any files.


    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,146

    Default

    OK, but a picture is not really useful, a drawing would be more useful.

    Are you using imperial or metric units? A scale does not mean anything, because you should draw full scale.

    What you are trying to achieve is a complex linetype which uses a text character, because you can use the character 'X' for the shape.You must not use the Standard Text style, because if the font is changed, then the linetype may look different. Each font has its own dimensions.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Surveying
    dlanorh's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Geospatial Engineer
    Discipline
    Surveying
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Aug 2017
    Location
    UK/Bundesrepublik Deutschland
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Please find attached a small *.txt file. You will need to rename the file to XXLiso.lin to use. Within the file are two linetypes

    FENCELINE2XMM an iso linetype for use in drawings units are millimetres

    FENCELINE2XM an iso linetype for use in drawings units are metres

    This part of the linetype controls the text. Change your text style here.

    ["XX",Standard,S=0.080,R=0.0,X=-0.080,Y=-0.040]

    "XX" is the text to display

    Standard is the text style. The text style MUST exist in the drawing into which the linetype is loaded otherwise it will error and refuse to load. The text height for the style must also be set to 0.

    S= This is the text height

    R= This is the relative text rotation

    X= This is the text horizontal offset

    Y= This is the text vertical offset

    If you change the text style you may need to play around with the X and Y values to centre the text in the gap.

    This is the line definition

    A,600, -80,["XX",Standard,S=60,R=0.0,X=-60,Y=-30], -80, 640

    Positive numbers denote draw a line of length
    Negative numbers denote a gap of length
    Attached Files

  6. #6
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,707

    Default

    Some more they need the scale played with a bit that is the 1st couple of numbers, we just live with them but should go through all of them but have around 50 linetypes.

    Code:
    *DRAINAGE,Drainage pipe ----D----D----D----D----D----D--
    A,5,-0.25,["D",STANDARD,S=.5,R=0.0,X=-0.1,Y=-0.25],-0.3
    *ELECTRICITY_CONDUIT,Electricity conduit ----E----E----E----E----E----E--
    A,5,-0.25,["E",STANDARD,S=.5,R=0.0,X=-0.1,Y=-0.25],-0.3
    *FENCE,Fence ----------/----------/----------/----------
    A,3,-0.25,["/",STANDARD,S=.5,R=0.0,X=-0.1,Y=-0.25],-0.3
    *WATER_UMAIN,Water main ----W----W----W----W----W----W--
    A,40,-5.08,["W",STANDARD,S=1.8,R=180.0,X=-1.8,Y=-.9],-3
    *DRAIN_ARIAL_LEFT2,Drainage pipe ----D---->----D---->----D---->--
    A,5,-0.625,["D",ARIAL,S=1.25,R=0.0,X=-0.5625,Y=-0.5625],-0.625,5,-1.25,[">",ARIAL,S=3.75,R=0.0,X=-3.75,Y=-1.875],-1.25
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  7. #7
    Senior Member Casusa's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Casusa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Intel Core I7-4770 Cpu - 3,40 GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    Monitor:
    Asus VW246H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Hi dlanorh.
    Your tips were very helpful.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Casusa's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Casusa's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Computer:
    Intel Core I7-4770 Cpu - 3,40 GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    AMD Radeon HD 7700 Series
    Monitor:
    Asus VW246H
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Madrid
    Posts
    147

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you all for your help.
    Problem solved.

Similar Threads

  1. Fence linetype missing the "x"
    By WindowsIHateYou in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13th Feb 2014, 11:36 pm
  2. Making fence linetype do what what I want it to do?
    By howitzer in forum The CUI, Hatches, Linetypes, Scripts & Macros
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6th Feb 2013, 07:56 pm
  3. fence linetype
    By wrmurphy81 in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 18th Aug 2010, 12:14 am
  4. Where is my Fence linetype stored?
    By YZ in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21st Oct 2008, 03:38 am
  5. Select Fence
    By Ian in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10th Jan 2008, 12:03 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts