+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member Siberian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Siberian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Siberian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer, HVAC
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    478

    Default The rise/drop symbol size is the same for all pipe sizes

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I deal with pipes that vary from Ø10 mm to Ø200 mm. When placing pipes vertically it would be helpfull if the size of the rise/drop symbol reflected the actual diameter - at least to some extent - perhaps limited downwards to avoid very small symbols. The settings I've found regarding rise/drop size seem to change them all to the same size regardless of the actual pipe size. Can something be done about this? Thank you!
    If at first you don't succeed - remove all evidence you ever tried.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,135

    Default

    You can if you use double line piping.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Siberian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Siberian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Siberian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer, HVAC
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    478

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tzframpton View Post
    You can if you use double line piping.

    -TZ
    Yes I know, I should have mentioned that I was thinking of single line. But I did find some answers online explaining that this wasn't actually possible I did however find a roadmap from Autodesk mentioning coming changes to rise/drop. Sadly I don't believe the changes will affect the issue I'm talking about here.
    If at first you don't succeed - remove all evidence you ever tried.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,135

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Siberian View Post
    Yes I know, I should have mentioned that I was thinking of single line. But I did find some answers online explaining that this wasn't actually possible I did however find a roadmap from Autodesk mentioning coming changes to rise/drop. Sadly I don't believe the changes will affect the issue I'm talking about here.
    This isn't really an "issue" though. Single line is schematic and meant to be. What you're wanting to do is merge two domains together in the same view - a scaled and a schematic version of the same thing all in one.

    What is your ultimate end goal with having single lined pipe with scaled rise/drops? There are other ways in Revit to achieve these results.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Siberian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Siberian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Siberian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer, HVAC
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    478

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tzframpton View Post
    This isn't really an "issue" though. Single line is schematic and meant to be. What you're wanting to do is merge two domains together in the same view - a scaled and a schematic version of the same thing all in one.

    What is your ultimate end goal with having single lined pipe with scaled rise/drops? There are other ways in Revit to achieve these results.
    What makes it an issue for me is that we have a national standard concerning this type of thing that dictates that rise/drop symbols should be at least X, and display the actual dimension for sizes above X - even if horizontal pipes are displayed in single line. This standard has been around since the pen and paper days and is what everyone in my country adheres to - no matter how weird and senseless it might seem to others.

    I have a number of horizontal pipes of different sizes that run into a vertical shaft. If the rise symbols were the actual size it would more easily convey my thoughts concerning the position of the pipes with respect to each other - not so much requiring the worker to visualize the actual size on his own in order to comment on it. Sure I can make another view on the side using fine detail level to display the shaft, but it would be even better if I didn't need to. What other ways are you thinking of that could bring me at least closer to what I want to achieve?

    Appreciating the help as always
    If at first you don't succeed - remove all evidence you ever tried.

  6. #6
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,135

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I guess your country will need to update it's standards to fit new, better technology.

    The other way to achieve this is just as you were thinking - create another View. You can create a new view that has a thin View Range area, say 1'-0" from floor to AFF where all you see is the pipe risers. Tag them, and keep the view/category as Fine Detail to create true to scale OD's. That's if you want to keep it parametric.

    If you don't care about the parametric bidirectional capability, then simply hide the turn down/up symbols and draw in a circle to scale and use normal Annotation Text. Mixing non-intelligent text and linework is highly discouraged, however, for obvious reasons.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 5th Jul 2018, 05:44 pm
  2. Rise/drop not displaying in single line view
    By wildirish317 in forum Revit MEP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25th Jul 2014, 03:34 pm
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2013, 11:04 pm
  4. Is There a Standard for Symbol Sizes that are Not to Scale?
    By David_Feynman in forum CAD Management
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 3rd Jun 2011, 01:23 am
  5. Pipe Rise/Run in MEP
    By Glengoyne in forum Revit General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11th Sep 2009, 08:46 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts