+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3,005

    Default Create PDF's as published at once

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Wondering if there's a setting for Publish to create the pdf's on a specified folder and not wait for the publish command to finish.

    I had this setup on Autocad 2015 where you can "see" the individual pdfs populated on the folder once the sheet is done.

    Job progress (Sheet 3 of 24)

    pdf files 1 to 3 are created at once.

    Now, Only when the publish command is completed only then the files will appear on the folder.

    Any help will be appreciated

  2. #2
    Luminous Being RobDraw's Avatar
    Using
    MEP 2017
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Connecticut, USA
    Posts
    5,179

    Default

    Why does it matter when you see the PDFs?

    Is it a difference of a multi-sheet PDF vs multiple single sheet PDFs?
    Drafting is a breeze.

  3. #3
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3,005

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RobDraw View Post
    Why does it matter when you see the PDFs?
    That way, on the fly the user [ in this case, the QA/QC personnel ] can see right away if the pdf turned out OK, the look and content of the sheet. Instead of waiting for the entire set to finish.

  4. #4
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2019
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,782

    Default

    An open computer process is locked out for access. There is no possible way to open a file that is already open for edit, as in being written to disk, so there is no icon, detail item, or thumbnail yet. It's the golden rule of digital life from the day of the UNIVAC 1066. Pdf's are read only usually, so many users can open the same file simultaneously, but only after the file is finished being written in the first place.

    If it's a multi-page pdf all the pages are in one single pdf file, you have to wait until the last page processed is done. If it is only one page or even two, you cannot even move fast enough to get to it before the write process closes, so it only seems like it is available right away.

    Being my own QA/QC department, what I do is set my publish options to open the pdf file(s) in the reader as they finish, Then I don't have to get all OCD over what's shown in the file tree.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

  5. #5
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,702

    Default

    Pbe my plot pdf lisp does one at a time and works 99.9% as its hard coded for the title block. You can plot a range 3-5 or All it does have that disavantage that it does do not do it in back ground but always saves in a known location compared to the dwg. Even plotting say 10 sheets it works at a reasonable speed, depending on how fast it can change layouts. If the pdf's are wrong you can see them being made and hit Esc. If you want post.
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  6. #6
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3,005

    Default

    ..what I do is set my publish options to open the pdf file(s) in the reader as they finish, Then I don't have to get all OCD over what's shown in the file tree.
    I have the same settings, but it will open the file after the whole set is done.

    BIGAL
    Pbe my plot pdf lisp does one at a time and works 99.9% as its hard coded for the title block. .
    I totally believe you, Now where's that lisp, give it here Bigal

    All it does have that disavantage that it does do not do it in back ground but always saves in a known location compared to the dwg. Even plotting say 10 sheets it works at a reasonable speed.
    True, AFAICT a none background plot is way faster than background plot.

    Thank you guys, I ended up using sheet set's Publish using Page Setup Override and it does create the pdf's on the fly.

    override.png

    But if I publish thru Publish Dialog Box, the user will still wait for the whole thing to finish before you can see the result.

    Thank you all

  7. #7
    Quantum Mechanic BIGAL's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2016
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    GEELONG AUSTRALIA
    Posts
    10,702

    Default

    PlotA3range.lsp Please note to do the autocombine need Ghostscript which can be downloaded seperately. It is hard coded for our plot window as we have the A1 full size title block at 0,0 so change the -6,-6 etc I hang out to dry if the guys move the title block, you can add a check if you want and move the layout so title is at 0,0 another lisp.

    Code:
    ;Plots layouts by range
    ; By Alan H Feb 2014
    
    (defun AH:pltlays ( / val1 val2 plotnames dwgname lendwg pdfname lay numlay numend dwgpre)
    (SETVAR "PDMODE" 0)
    (setvar "plottransparencyoverride" 2)
    (setvar "fillmode" 1)
    (setvar "textfill" 1)
    (setq plotnames '())
    
    ; check that pdf directory exists
    (setq dwgpre (strcat (getvar "dwgprefix") "\pdf"))
    (if (= (vl-file-directory-p dwgpre) nil)
    (vl-mkdir dwgpre)
    )
    (SETQ LAYOUTS (vla-get-Layouts (vla-get-activedocument (vlax-get-acad-object))))
    (SETQ COUNT (- (VLA-GET-COUNT LAYOUTS) 1))
    
    (if (not AH:getval2) (load "getvals3"))
    (ah:getval2 "Enter start tab number" 6 4 "1" "Enter end tab number" 6 4 (RTOS COUNT 2 0))
    
    (setq numlay (ATOI val1))
    (setq numend (ATOI val2))
    
    (setq len (+ (- numend numlay) 1))
    
    (setq dwgname (GETVAR "dwgname"))
    (setq lendwg (strlen dwgname))
    (setq dwgname (substr dwgname 1 (- lendwg 4)))
    
    (repeat len
    (vlax-for lay LAYOUTS
    (if (= numlay (vla-get-taborder lay))
      (setvar "ctab" (vla-get-name lay))
    ) ; if
    
    (setq pdfname (strcat dwgpre "\\" dwgname "-" (getvar "ctab") ".pdf" ))
    ) ; for
    
    (setvar "textfill" 1)
    (setvar "fillmode" 1)
    (setvar "PLOTTRANSPARENCYOVERRIDE" 2)
        (COMMAND "-PLOT"  "Y"  "" "dwg to Pdf"
    	       "Iso full bleed A3 (420.00 x 297.00 MM)" "m" "LANDSCAPE"  "N"   "W"  "-6,-6" "807,560" "1=2"  "C"
    	       "y" "Designlasercolour.ctb" "Y"	"n" "n" "n" pdfName "N" "y"
        )
        
    (setq numlay (+ numlay 1))
    (setq plotnames (cons pdfname plotnames))
    ) ; end repeat
    (setq trgfile (strcat (getvar "dwgprefix") "pdf\\" dwgname "-D" val1 "-D" val2 ".pdf")) 
    
    (setq plotnames (reverse plotnames))
    
    (IF (= (length plotnames) 1)
    (princ)
    (progn
    (if (not combinepdf)(load "mergepdfs"))
    (combinepdf gsExe plotnames trgFile )
    )
    )
    
    ) ; defun
    
    (AH:pltlays)
    
    
    (princ)
    Attached Files
    A man who never made mistakes never made anything

  8. #8
    Forum Deity pBe's Avatar
    Computer Details
    pBe's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8.1
    Discipline
    Landscape
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    3,005

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Thank you Bigal

    Cheers

    **Off-topic**
    Code:
     Code moved to Lisp forum
    Last edited by pBe; 12th Jul 2018 at 11:20 am.

Similar Threads

  1. When CAD Software Is Not Published Yet
    By basty in forum SolidWorks
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 22nd Mar 2016, 05:38 pm
  2. Editing a published part
    By andar424 in forum Autodesk Inventor
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21st Feb 2014, 04:24 pm
  3. Drawings lose extents if published?
    By chauncy274 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16th May 2013, 05:23 am
  4. Published PDF layout name problem
    By lutcus in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2011, 10:44 pm
  5. Autodesk Impression e-Learning Courses Published
    By Between the Lines in forum AutoCAD RSS Feeds
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 29th Jan 2008, 09:10 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts