+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Senior Member Siberian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Siberian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Siberian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer, HVAC
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    489

    Default A couple of issues with my CAD links

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm having two issues with my CAD links.

    1)
    I am able to unload it when I need to, but if I then attempt to reload it, it seems to work on it for a second or two as usual - and there is no error message - but when the dialog box closes, the link isn't showing - in any view. I'm not even using OneDrive to store my files at this point. Any experience on this?

    2)
    A few of my CAD links also display on the level underneath the one they are on without me wanting them to. I've checked that the all levels have underlay base level set to none, but it doesn't change. Using 3D view I can confirm the all links are inserted on the correct level, so I don't know what else to check. Any hints will be appreciated
    If at first you don't succeed - remove all evidence you ever tried.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    HP Zbook
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Full Virtual Design and Construction BIM services for the MEP engineering and construction industries.
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    9,155

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Siberian View Post
    I'm having two issues with my CAD links.

    1)
    I am able to unload it when I need to, but if I then attempt to reload it, it seems to work on it for a second or two as usual - and there is no error message - but when the dialog box closes, the link isn't showing - in any view. I'm not even using OneDrive to store my files at this point. Any experience on this?
    See here first:
    https://www.ideateinc.com/blog/2013/...-revit-view-33

    Quote Originally Posted by Siberian View Post
    2)
    A few of my CAD links also display on the level underneath the one they are on without me wanting them to. I've checked that the all levels have underlay base level set to none, but it doesn't change. Using 3D view I can confirm the all links are inserted on the correct level, so I don't know what else to check. Any hints will be appreciated
    Sometimes the View Range can pick up the other Links if the Top and Bottom offsets are set to the exact same plane as what the CAD Link is currently residing. Best thing to do is just open V/G > Imported Categories and check/uncheck the ones needed or not needed. Somewhat like a layer control.

    Also, for DWG files used as "backgrounds", it's best to link them in, and not import them in. The main reason is linking acts more like an XREF and can be controlled much more effectively, where as importing is like a Block Reference.

    -TZ
    Tannar Z. Frampton ™ | Frampton & Associates, Inc.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Siberian's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Siberian's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 10
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Siberian's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer, HVAC
    Discipline
    HVAC
    Using
    Revit 2019
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Norway
    Posts
    489

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by tzframpton View Post
    See here first:
    https://www.ideateinc.com/blog/2013/...-revit-view-33

    Sometimes the View Range can pick up the other Links if the Top and Bottom offsets are set to the exact same plane as what the CAD Link is currently residing. Best thing to do is just open V/G > Imported Categories and check/uncheck the ones needed or not needed. Somewhat like a layer control.

    Also, for DWG files used as "backgrounds", it's best to link them in, and not import them in. The main reason is linking acts more like an XREF and can be controlled much more effectively, where as importing is like a Block Reference.
    Useful list of possibilities that. Using the V/G options instead of unloading/reloading is a good idea - I have to remember that.

    I eventually found out what the issue is, but I'm not quite sure how to deal with it. My linked files are initially oriented true north at an unworkable angle, so as you and I discussed in another thread I ended up using a scope box to rotate my views to a more convenient angle. When I link (not import) the DWG files I uncheck the "Orient to view" option. I don't really remember why I ended up doing that in the first place, but I guess that gave me the results I wanted back when I started exploring linked files. So when I unload a link and attempt to reload it again, it ends up where it would have if "Orient to view" had been checked. I've probably done something unwise in order to end up like this, but what would be the best way to clear up my situation?
    If at first you don't succeed - remove all evidence you ever tried.

Similar Threads

  1. TABLE - couple issues
    By efilana in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 4th Sep 2012, 04:25 pm
  2. a couple issues
    By Noxumbro in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2nd Mar 2011, 06:22 pm
  3. couple of odd issues..
    By kippax in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th Jul 2010, 02:28 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts