+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3
Results 21 to 24 of 24
  1. #21
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dana W View Post
    How about one block for all the different size boards with a meter, and another block without the meter.

    Within the block the visibility states for the boards will be one for each size. Rename each visibility state to the size of the board it shows visible and select all the other boards to be invisible for that state.
    This will probably be the way I head tbh

  2. #22
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    123

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by steven-g View Post
    Hmmm confusing, I thought the OP is referring to the parameters associated with the parametric tab in the ribbon or menu, so dimensional or geometric constraints(or user defined in the parameters manager), and these to the best of my knowledge can't be created in LT. But then you also have the Parameters/Actions in the dynamic block editor which of course LT can fully utilize.
    I was ultimately refering to dynamic blocks within dynamic blocks.

  3. #23
    Senior Member
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2018
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    123

    Default

    If I used a dynamic block representing types of fire detectors with 5 or more visible states. Is it possible to do a block count for each state?

  4. #24
    Forum Deity Dana W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Dana W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 8 64 bit
    Computer:
    Dell XPS ONE 2710
    Motherboard:
    Dunno
    CPU:
    Intel I-5 3330S @ 2.7 Ghz
    RAM:
    6 Gb
    Graphics:
    On board barely adequate
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte external
    Monitor:
    All in one 27" touch & pen
    Discipline
    Construction
    Dana W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architectural Millwork Designer/Draftsman
    Discipline
    Construction
    Details
    Custom commercial millwork.
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2019
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Oviedo, Florida
    Posts
    4,797

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by steven-g View Post
    I have to be honest, although you can do some amazing things with dynamic blocks, the original intention of blocks is to save time and memory by having repeatable content, but experience has shown me that you can spend many hours even days and weeks, creating really complicated extravagant blocks that do everything, when in reality several simpler blocks would perform just as well and take a fraction of the time to create the only difference being you have to select more blocks when using them.
    I know exactly what you mean there. Another caveat to using a lot of complicated blocks is that they don't help much in custom situations.

    I have spent many hours building dynamic blocks in my template drawing, only to have our average customer desire one-off custom work that eliminates most of my standard cabinetry blocks. It is only in the straightforward kitchen or employee break room where blocks take care of almost 100% of my drawing work. It's hard to use blocks when each customer wants their reception area and lobby to look like an alien spaceship from a different planet. It is in those areas where the drawing work is still line by line.


    By the way, it is the parametric constraints originated in full AutoCad that LT can see, and display, and even react to, but LT cannot edit them. One can only turn them off, or erase them in LT. AutoDesk put the delete option in LT because they severely handicap a LT user trying to use a drawing with them in there.
    The S197 gen Ford Mustang, and the F-4 Phantom both prove the same theory. "With enough power applied, a school bus will fly."

Similar Threads

  1. Creating a Categorized Drop Down for multiple visibility states
    By jwhip804 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21st Sep 2016, 03:36 pm
  2. Multiple Visibility Parameters
    By nacirpl in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th Oct 2012, 06:22 pm
  3. Editable Attribute Definitions in Dynamic blocks w/ multiple visibility states
    By Farrit in forum AutoCAD 2D Drafting, Object Properties & Interface
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Jul 2012, 10:39 pm
  4. Visibility States for Multiple Blocks
    By Skilled Warrior in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15th Jun 2010, 03:03 pm
  5. Multiple visibility states + move properties!
    By Tommy78 in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25th Mar 2010, 11:05 am

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts