+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Junior Member muaddib's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    14

    Question landscape object in AutoCAD 2007?

    I wonder is there any way to insert in AutoCAD 2007 a landscape object as it was called in AutoCAD 2006 (LSEDIT, LSLIB, LSNEW)?
    I tried to use a new material with a texture file, and the respective opacity texture file without any luck.

  2. #2
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    The entire render system has changed in 2007 and as far as I am aware, the landscape objects are no longer a part of AutoCAD. I guess the only way to go is to make your own but I haven't tried this so I can't say how it might be done.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  3. #3
    Junior Member muaddib's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Thanks anyway

  4. #4
    Junior Member muaddib's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Finally there is a way to make a landscape object in 2007 that works


    First start a new material using the advanced material template.


    Use the texture file as a texture map and the alpha file as the opacity map
    Set the material up as scaled to fit including the opacity map.
    Set the `specular' colour to black (true colour black, not index colour black).
    Increase the `shininess' to 100'

    You then need to draw an object for the tree or the human figure that you can apply the material to. A 3D face, a region or a line with thickness should do. Since the material is set to fit to object you'll have to get the XY proportions roughly right for the object.

    Now just apply the material to the object.

    The main problem verses the old landscape objects is you have to keep rotating your trees or the human figures to face the camera.

  5. #5
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,685

    Smile

    Thanks muaddib, I will try that for myself - maybe I should do a tutorial for that. Looks like it will be a useful technique in AutoCAD from now on.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  6. #6
    Junior Member muaddib's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Southern Europe
    Posts
    14

    Default

    We can always use Photoshop, but its hard to create shadows and reflections.
    I checked also Archvision, and they don't make an RPC plug-in for AutoCAD 2007 (at least not yet!)

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I found the whole new rendering system of 2007 a bit bizarre; much easier in 2002 and if you put in a few landscape objects and a few lights you can actually get pretty good results. Is it actually worth percevering with the 2007 renderer? Has anyone got any decent images that we an see?

    Here's one of my 2002 images-
    http://www.spaceplanning-uk.com/text/gallery5.html

  8. #8
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,685

    Default

    I must admit, I didn't take to the new renderer, having got so comfortable with the old system since forever. But, I am growing to like it and I have found that the Dashboard is a far more efficient way of working with all 3D stuff than the previous menu/toolbar system.

    I'm still at the "maybe" stage but the more I use it, the better it gets. I'd say stick with it and give it a chance.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  9. #9
    Forum Newbie
    Computer Details
    RONNIE CALISO's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows xp, service pack 2
    Motherboard:
    as rock
    CPU:
    intel Pentium 4
    RAM:
    1gb
    Graphics:
    N/A
    Primary Storage:
    80GB
    Monitor:
    flat screen, lcd
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Philippines
    Posts
    5

    Smile

    as far as what i got in cad 2006. i got trouble with the landscape of cad 2007...just like most 2006 users i also stuck on it with the same problem... i ask somebody who knows better on it to share with us. God bless everyone...

  10. #10
    Full Member deres's Avatar
    Computer Details
    deres's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Pro
    Monitor:
    Samsung 19''
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Athens - Greece
    Posts
    81

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I had the same problem with landscape objects when I jumped from 2004 to 2008. The solution I found is easy: Make or insert the landscape object using 2004, then copy and paste it in 2008.
    Here's an example with people and trees from 2004 library, rendered with 2008:


Similar Threads

  1. Landscape Symbols
    By Kristin in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 6th May 2009, 02:02 pm
  2. rendering landscape dtm
    By bassman100 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2nd Dec 2006, 01:06 pm
  3. How do I add landscape into the library?
    By kickin4life in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 17th Apr 2006, 06:12 pm
  4. landscape design
    By ralph reboja in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28th Jan 2006, 09:46 am
  5. Landscape for rendering
    By AnnaLight1 in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2003, 11:33 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts