+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member Hardney's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2013
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Montreal, Qc
    Posts
    172

    Angry Unable to press SHIFT to unselect

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi,

    I just reinstalled AutoCAD Land Desktop and when I window objects to select them, I just cannot make another window while pressing SHIFT to unselect unwanted items, it happened to me before but now I just cannot find what option to toggle on or off.

  2. #2
    Super Member chrisdarmanin's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2016
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Malta
    Posts
    551

    Default

    try in options > user preferences > standard windows acellarator keys

    i'm still a novice so i could be wrong in anything i say...

  3. #3
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,051

    Default

    Try setting the PICKADD system variable to 1. This allows items previously selected to be deselected when the SHIFT is pressed.

  4. #4
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2009
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Hi! Thanks for the advice...

    I've set Pickadd to 1 (and 0) and I still can't select/ make a selection window to when I'm holding down shift, so I can't deselect.

    I can't find Options either...

    I'm in AutoCAD MAP 3D 2009...

    Any help greatly appreciated!

    Cheers,

    Helen

  5. #5
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,051

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by helenneenot View Post
    I've set Pickadd to 1 (and 0) and I still can't select/ make a selection window to when I'm holding down shift, so I can't deselect.
    There are several system variables that start with "pick". Perhaps your help file would give you information.


    Quote Originally Posted by helenneenot View Post
    ..I can't find Options either...
    Have you tried to type OPTIONS at the command line?

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by helenneenot View Post
    I'm in AutoCAD MAP 3D 2009...
    Thread moved to Map 3D sub-forum: http://www.cadtutor.net/forum/forumd....php?59-Map-3D

    For future questions, please start a new thread in the relevant section of the forum. The thread you replied to is 9 years old.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Forum Deity
    Using
    AutoCAD 2002
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    East Sussex, U.K.
    Posts
    4,051

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    .....The thread you replied to is 9 years old.
    It seems like only yesterday

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,156

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eldon View Post
    It seems like only yesterday
    It actually does seem like only yesterday. 2006 is the year we both joined this community. Time fly's by too quickly.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  9. #9
    Senior Member CAD USER's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Posts
    100

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Dear Hardney,

    to remove form selection try to use "R" command, instead of using SHIFT command...

Similar Threads

  1. Shift+Left Click=Image Select
    By Hardney in forum Civil 3D & LDD
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 24th Sep 2014, 10:17 pm
  2. Slow response when I press <DELETE> on keyboard
    By rogislav in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15th Jul 2005, 10:03 am
  3. Shift-Rt Click Osnap Setting
    By WannaBeCader in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27th May 2005, 05:17 pm
  4. 2005 shift-deselect. how??
    By LISTER in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11th May 2005, 06:10 am
  5. Shift KEy and Filterring
    By gheeeber in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10th Dec 2002, 02:08 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts