+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Senior Member the ber's Avatar
    Computer Details
    the ber's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    202

    Unhappy freezing new layers in paper space layouts

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    i searched this site a bit for this problem, but i found only one thread, which was not answered. here goes:

    i have some drawings with several different layouts. each layout has some layers frozen in that layout. this is so i can show only safety system wiring runs on one layout, room numbers on another layout, etc.
    when i go to model space and add a new layer, it shows up in all the layouts, but i don't want it in all the layouts. so i have to go to each layout, unfreeze the viewport layer so i can select the viewport, go to properties and unfreeze the model space part of the layout, freeze the new layer for this layout, and reverse my steps. then on to the next layout....
    there must be a better way to do this, because i'm sure there are people making drawings with many more layouts than mine. help?

    btw, my terminology may not be quite correct, because i am working in germany with a german version of the program (autocad lt 2007).

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,036

    Default Vplayer


  3. #3
    Senior Member the ber's Avatar
    Computer Details
    the ber's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    202

    Default freezing new layers in paper space layouts

    thanks cad 64. i'll have to try it at work tomorrow. i'll post again with the results, hopefully good.

  4. #4
    Senior Member the ber's Avatar
    Computer Details
    the ber's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 64 bit
    Discipline
    Facilities Mgmt
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    202

    Default vplayer command

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    hello cad64,

    i tried your suggestion a little bit today. i think it's what i'm looking for, thanks. i need to practice some more to make it work better; this software has a pretty steep learning curve.

Similar Threads

  1. LTSCALE - Model Space/Paper Space Differences and problems
    By Fedge in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2011, 02:33 pm
  2. FREEZING LAYERS IN LAYOUTS
    By carl mac in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 28th Feb 2006, 11:27 pm
  3. shortcut to toggle model space to paper space
    By edwin in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3rd Feb 2006, 05:58 am
  4. saving layers in each viewport (Paper Space)
    By mrromeo333 in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7th Dec 2005, 10:56 am
  5. Pasting to Paper space from paper space
    By brast in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24th Jun 2003, 03:58 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts