+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7

    Question How do I do curve (arc) text?

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Im working on a manhole cover drawing and I need to put some text so it would alighn with the edge of the cover, in other words i need to alighn it along the curve of the circle.
    How do I do that?
    Thank you.

  2. #2
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,066

    Default

    If you have Express Tools installed, you can use the ARCTEXT command. It will align your text with a selected arc. Unfortunately it doesn't work on a circle, so you will have to break your manhole cover into two separate arcs for the command to work.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default

    I dont have Express Tools =(
    Any other way?

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    if you have the full version of AutoCAD then yes you do have express tools. just type EXPRESSTOOLS at the command line then it'll load. then type ARCTEXT.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7

    Unhappy

    I dont think I have a full version.
    Any other way?
    Thank you for your replys.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Landscape Architect
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Using
    3ds Max 2011
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    9,066

    Default

    Are you using Autocad LT? If so, I don't think there is an answer for you. LT does not have Express Tools and it does not support lisp routines. The only option I can see would be for you to create individual letters and move & rotate them into position. Sorry.
    Personal Website: ( Updated 03/21/2014 ) ---> http://www.rdeweese.com/

    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  7. #7
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7

    Smile

    Ok, I guess thats what im going to do.
    Thank you all for your quick replies!

  8. #8
    Super Member profcad's Avatar
    Computer Details
    profcad's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Ultimate
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Dual - Six-Core Xeon
    RAM:
    12GB
    Graphics:
    NVida 4400
    Monitor:
    DUAL 24" WIDESCREEN
    Discipline
    Education
    profcad's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Professor Of CAD
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Oklahoma City, OK
    Posts
    829

    Default

    Use the polar feature of the array command.
    Draw an arc or circle, then draw one character.
    Array it around the center point.
    John Helton
    Professor of CAD
    Oklahoma City Community College
    Oklahoma City, OK

  9. #9
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,811

    Default

    also, what about LT Extender? doesn't that have an Arc Text option?
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  10. #10
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD 2005
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    7

    Smile

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I looked up in F1 help, it said to get the Extra tools from the instalations CD. I will look for it and then continue, if im lucky.
    Thank you all so much!

Similar Threads

  1. Text along a curve & circle into 360 parts
    By berol in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 19th Jul 2006, 11:23 pm
  2. Alinging text along a curve
    By ebjco in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2005, 01:58 pm
  3. 3D Curve
    By Twilight in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 10th Jul 2003, 03:46 pm
  4. Curve text
    By stephen in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11th Apr 2003, 03:32 pm
  5. Curve Text
    By stephen in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 6th Nov 2002, 02:19 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts