+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    151

    Default Trace a new drawing from another drawing

    Here is a funky question, wonder if there is way to do this.

    Let's say I have a really wacky drawing with lots of blocks, minserted blocks, strange objects that I don't have, etc...
    And let's say all I want to do is have that entire drawing, as-is, but using just lines, plines, whatever. In other words, no blocks, no xrefs, no objects, no fancy stuff at all, just basically a "trace over" of what the drawing looks like.

    So the end result would be a new drawing where every line is just a line. Not part of xrefs, blocks, 3d/2d objects etc...

    Also it would be good if this somehow were to make the new lines/traces into the same layer as the line it is tracing. But I suppose it could all go in the same layer if needs be.

    Does that make sense? It would be a really helpful function to just have a new tracing of another drawing, sans all the fancy stuff.

    Part of the reason for needing this is that drawings with blocks and minserted blocks are extremely hard to edit. Let's say I have a wall which is a block. If I explode the wall, suddenly window and door locations are lost because they used some special objects or something. If a wall/door/fixture/whatever happens to be minserted, I can't edit it at all because I can't explode it. If I try to get around it, it's just a long, complicated and painful process.
    So if I had a script which just traced all the lines in the model tab to a new document that has none of those things, it would make editing a million times easier.

    Thanks for your help!
    aCAD 2007 and aCAD 2002
    XP Pro Sp2, 1gb, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.2GHz
    Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe mobo
    GeForce 8400 GS, 512mb, PCI-E
    Swap file set to 1GB

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    not specified
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Anchorage, Alaska
    Posts
    2,074

    Default

    You might trw "wmfout" and "wmfin" although you may lose too much information or accuracy that way.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Norts's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    448

    Default

    would using dwf work ?
    Posting no more
    ...................................................


  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    151

    Default

    I will try those things and see what happens.

    Thanks, stay tuned....
    aCAD 2007 and aCAD 2002
    XP Pro Sp2, 1gb, AMD 64 X2 Dual Core 4200+ 2.2GHz
    Asus A8R32-MVP Deluxe mobo
    GeForce 8400 GS, 512mb, PCI-E
    Swap file set to 1GB

  5. #5
    Senior Member fahim108's Avatar
    Computer Details
    fahim108's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional
    Computer:
    HP Pavilion dv5000
    Discipline
    Architectural
    fahim108's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Architect
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2012
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mumbai, India
    Posts
    497

    Idea

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    ...or you can even qselect the text in the drawing (mtext particularly), delete it, explode the rest of the drawing a couple of times, then use the oops command to bring back the deleted mtext. Select all, put in one layer, or whatever!

    Just don't know if XREF would explode like a BLOCK though! ...but worth giving a try.
    ﻓﻬﻳﻢ ﺍﺣﻣﺪ ﺸﺎﻩ

Similar Threads

  1. How to trace a Drawing?
    By Leech in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 25th Oct 2006, 11:41 pm
  2. Is this even remotely possible? - Trace
    By FindAPath in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17th Jul 2006, 04:03 pm
  3. Drawing File Size- Efficient Drawing
    By AlanRees in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd Sep 2004, 09:34 am
  4. Import and trace a tiff file into a cad dwg.
    By LAWBC in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th Mar 2004, 04:06 am
  5. Creating a new drawing form an existing drawing -AC2002-
    By Michael in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Apr 2003, 07:41 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts