+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Senior Member Starkey's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    206.Seattle.WA
    Posts
    169

    Default Hatch, Stretch, Dynamic Block...

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    So I created a block of text with a simple border around it. I have a drop shadow on the border that is simply lines with a solid hatch. When I try to give the block the stretching action (as to fit varying lengths of text for room labels) it works fine, but doesn't want to stretch the hatching. The hatch will just move instead of get longer or shorter.

    Hope this makes sense,


    -Taylor
    "You have to flatten them first. But then they won't be 3D anymore."
    -Alan Cullen

  2. #2
    Banned Alan Cullen's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2009
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Cairns, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    4,181

    Default

    If you make those lines surrounding the hatch a polyline boundary, then pick that boundary for your hatch.....then when you stretch your text box, the hatch should move to occupy the new position of your boundary.

    P.S. We do the same thing with text we want to stand out...

  3. #3
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,140

    Default

    Ok, you should have one linear parameter on your border with a stretch action applied. Then you need to add a second stretch action, for your hatch boundary, tied to that same linear parameter. Choose the stretch action and select your linear parameter and pick the same "parameter point to associate with action" that you chose for the first stretch action. Now, when you pick the "corners of stretch frame", pick the corners of your hatch boundary polyline and when asked to select objects, select your hatch boundary polyline.

    I hope that all makes sense. If not post back and I will try explain it better.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  4. #4
    Senior Member Starkey's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    206.Seattle.WA
    Posts
    169

    Default

    I'm jumping on it right now...I will let you know in a sec if it works. I understand what you're getting at.
    "You have to flatten them first. But then they won't be 3D anymore."
    -Alan Cullen

  5. #5
    Senior Member Starkey's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    206.Seattle.WA
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Gorgeous...just had to create a polyline for the hatch border, then do two stretch actions under one linear parameter, one for the hatch PL and one for the main text box.

    Thank you both!
    "You have to flatten them first. But then they won't be 3D anymore."
    -Alan Cullen

  6. #6
    Senior Member Dommy2Hotty's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Homer Glen, IL
    Posts
    350

    Default

    Perhaps the hatch wasn't associative from the start? I'm just guessing here. If it was associative, I don't think you'd have to do 2 stretch actions.
    AutoCAD 2005
    ADT 2005

  7. #7
    Senior Member Starkey's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    206.Seattle.WA
    Posts
    169

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Dommy2Hotty View Post
    Perhaps the hatch wasn't associative from the start? I'm just guessing here. If it was associative, I don't think you'd have to do 2 stretch actions.
    But it would still have to be a polyline border around the hatch wouldn't it? I didn't have a PL when I asked the question originally.
    "You have to flatten them first. But then they won't be 3D anymore."
    -Alan Cullen

  8. #8
    Super Moderator Cad64's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Cad64's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Profesional x64
    Computer:
    XI Computers
    Motherboard:
    Asus P8Z77-V Pro
    CPU:
    Intel Core I7 3770K 4.1 Ghz Quad Core 3rd Gen
    RAM:
    24GB DDR3 @ 1333MHz
    Graphics:
    Nvidia GeForce GTX 570 1280MB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    SATAII 500GB 7200 RPM
    Secondary Storage:
    Western Digital My Book Studio Edition II - 2TB capacity
    Monitor:
    HPf2105 21" LCD Widescreen & Cintiq 21ux
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Cad64's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Digital Artist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    3D model building, texturing and rendering. Photoshop Color Graphics.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2014
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Southern California
    Posts
    10,140

    Default

    Regardless of whether the hatch is associative or not, a second stretch action is required in order to get the hatch boundary to stretch with the text border. Without that second stretch action the hatch boundary just moves with the border. Obviously if the hatch is not associative it will not fill the boundary after stretching, but in order to get both the border and the hatch boundary to stretch together, you need two actions tied to the linear parameter.
    CGSociety Portfolio: http://rdeweese.cgsociety.org/
    Facebook:
    https://www.facebook.com/rdeweese67/


    "Work Smart, Not Hard"

  9. #9
    Senior Member Dommy2Hotty's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Homer Glen, IL
    Posts
    350

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Cad64 View Post
    Regardless of whether the hatch is associative or not, a second stretch action is required in order to get the hatch boundary to stretch with the text border. Without that second stretch action the hatch boundary just moves with the border. Obviously if the hatch is not associative it will not fill the boundary after stretching, but in order to get both the border and the hatch boundary to stretch together, you need two actions tied to the linear parameter.
    Duely noted. I don't have much experience with Dynamic Blocks. I just tried my way and it did not work...
    AutoCAD 2005
    ADT 2005

  10. #10
    Senior Member Dommy2Hotty's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Homer Glen, IL
    Posts
    350

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Actually, my way DID work, but after I stretched it once, the hatch looses it's associativity, so the second stretch action keeps the same hatch...
    AutoCAD 2005
    ADT 2005

Similar Threads

  1. dynamic block-stretching?
    By comcu in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26th Aug 2009, 04:19 pm
  2. Stretch/Fit/Scale Block relative to boundary?
    By ORgrown in forum AutoLISP, Visual LISP & DCL
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28th Apr 2008, 05:23 pm
  3. Dynamic block with stretch action
    By nscherneck in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19th Oct 2006, 06:09 pm
  4. ACAD 2006 dynamic block linear stretch problem
    By Barry Clark in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th Dec 2005, 05:43 pm
  5. dynamic fill/hatch colors
    By dagoose in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15th Nov 2005, 07:32 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts