+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Full Member irelandmc's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irelandmc's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro 32 bit
    Computer:
    Thinkpad T420
    Discipline
    Electrical
    irelandmc's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Manufacturing sector, lean sigma continuous improvement specialist.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    US - IA
    Posts
    49

    Default Cannot select viewport in layouts

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    I'm stumped- After creating a viewport in a layout, I can no longer select it. This appears to only be true with viewports on the def-points layer. I've created a new non-printing layer to put my viewports on (just make sure that this would work), but now I will have to re-construct all of my layouts because I cannot edit the current ones!
    I CAN work around it, but I would PREFER to fix it. It's just this one drawing that is doing it (of course the one with dozens of layouts).

    I closed and re-opened- no improvement.

    Does anyone know why I cannot edit viewports on the defpoints layer?
    Always ahead...

    AutoCAD 2013
    Previously AutoCAD LT 2002, 2006; AutoCAD 2005

  2. #2
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    Try thawing/turning on layer 0.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Norts's Avatar
    Using
    Map 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    Manchester, UK
    Posts
    448

    Default

    IF your viewport is on layer Defpoints AND you are unable to select it, my first suspicion would be that your 0 (zero) layer is switched off. IF this is the case, just switch layer 0 (zero) back on, and the viewport should now be selectable again.
    Posting no more
    ...................................................


  4. #4
    Full Member irelandmc's Avatar
    Computer Details
    irelandmc's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    XP Pro 32 bit
    Computer:
    Thinkpad T420
    Discipline
    Electrical
    irelandmc's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Engineer
    Discipline
    Electrical
    Details
    Manufacturing sector, lean sigma continuous improvement specialist.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2013
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    US - IA
    Posts
    49

    Default

    That was it. Thank you.

    Any knowledge about why this happens when 0 is frozen?
    Always ahead...

    AutoCAD 2013
    Previously AutoCAD LT 2002, 2006; AutoCAD 2005

  5. #5
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2014
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,439

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    defpoints is a specific layer for Definition Points (nodes). this layer i believe is associated directly to layer 0. i think anyways....

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 14th Jul 2006, 05:24 pm
  2. Selecting a viewport within a bigger viewport
    By edwin in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16th Nov 2005, 06:13 pm
  3. layouts
    By PRS in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 3rd Sep 2005, 12:44 am
  4. \\layouts//
    By randomBullets in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 29th Jul 2005, 02:41 pm
  5. Using layouts
    By careyc in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17th Jun 2005, 06:45 am

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts