+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 33 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 322
  1. #1
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,690

    Idea Contribute a tip, become famous

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hello boys and girls. I'm going to be launching the new CADTutor site homepage this week and here's your chance to see your own name up there on the busiest page of the site.

    "OK, what do I have to do?"

    Well, I'm putting a new section on the homepage called "Tip of the Day" (original eh?). Each day, a new AutoCAD tip will be published and the author will be credited. So, all you have to do is reply to this thread with your favourite AutoCAD tip or trick and I'll add it to the database.

    "OK, what information do you need?"

    Your tip needs a title, a paragraph or so describing what it is and how it works and attach any images that need to be included. You should also include the name you'd like to see your tip credited to if it's anything other than your forum name.

    That's it.

    You may enter as many tips as you like but each one must be in a new post.
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  2. #2
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,690

    Default

    Hmm, OK, so no one wants to be famous

    Well, you can at least see the new "Tip of the Day" feature live on the homepage now: http://www.cadtutor.net/#tip

    If anyone does have a tip to contribute, please do - not that I'm desperate or anything
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  3. #3
    Super Member yedan's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Uk, Suffolk
    Posts
    508

    Default midway osnap point

    ok a tip that has helped me a few times,

    The midway point osnap command,

    Drawing a line or circle that starts midway between two points is easy enough if the midway point falls on a line or other object but what if it falls in the space between two other objects like say a circle in between two squares like this



    there is an osnap that for some reason is not included on the osnap tool bar, its is called Midway 2 points or m2p for short to use this command start the circle command and before choosing anything else type m2p in the command line you will be asked for the first mid point in my example i use two squares and select the mid point of one side



    you will then be asked for the second mid point select the mid point of the other squares side



    all that is left to do is give your circle a dia or radius



    there you have it, a circle exactly midway between two objects floating in the space between without the need for any construction lines,

    happy drawing
    andy "yedan" perry

  4. #4
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,690

    Default

    Excellent tip Yedan - that one is definately going onto the database - thank you
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  5. #5
    Senior Member CromCruithne's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Miserable Mississippi
    Posts
    280

    Default Tan, Tan, Tan Circles

    Here's another along those lines that I found whilst customizing toolbars.
    Although it's not on the draw menu or even part of the circle sub-menu there is a Tan, Tan, Tan option for circles. I'm not sure what the command line command is, but you can add it to the Draw toolbar easily enough through the CUI interface.

    -Crom
    Last edited by CromCruithne; 14th Feb 2007 at 02:16 pm. Reason: Added Title

  6. #6
    Super Member yedan's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Uk, Suffolk
    Posts
    508

    Default

    crom, wouldn't that be the same as using a 3p circle and tangent osnaps?

  7. #7
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,516

    Default

    Expanding on this subject, mid between 2 points is now included as one of the standard snaps on 2006.

    It appears from watching others work in this office that not everybody knows that shift-right click pops up a temporary OSNAP setting box - ideal for this sort of work!
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  8. #8
    Super Member yedan's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Uk, Suffolk
    Posts
    508

    Default

    yes it does indeed and i was one of those that didnt know about the right click box, or at least had forgotten about it, i have now added the snap to my tool bar as i don't use alot of the right hand click menus

  9. #9
    Administrator CADTutor's Avatar
    Computer Details
    CADTutor's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
    Motherboard:
    Asus P7P55D-E PRO
    CPU:
    Intel Core i7-860
    RAM:
    4GB PC3-12800 C8 Corsair Dominator
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA Quadro FX 1800 768 MB
    Primary Storage:
    Intel X25-M SSD 160GB
    Secondary Storage:
    Samsung Spinpoint 320GB
    Monitor:
    BenQ FP241W 24" Wide
    Discipline
    Education
    CADTutor's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Senior Lecturer (Digital Design), Landscape Architect & Web Designer
    Discipline
    Education
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Hampshire, UK
    Posts
    3,690

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dbroada View Post
    It appears from watching others work in this office that not everybody knows that shift-right click pops up a temporary OSNAP setting box - ideal for this sort of work!
    Good one - it's in the database. Thanks
    Tip: Please do not PM or email me with CAD questions - use the forums, you'll get an answer sooner.
    AutoCAD Tutorials | How to add images to your posts | How to register successfully | Forum FAQ

  10. #10
    Senior Member CromCruithne's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Miserable Mississippi
    Posts
    280

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by yedan View Post
    crom, wouldn't that be the same as using a 3p circle and tangent osnaps?
    Yes and no. It's essentially the same thing, but when doing machine drafting, a circle tangent to 3 points is fairly common and it's handy to have it right there. Also, I tend to work with barebones Osnap setttings to avoid accidentally snapping to the wrong point. I know folks who keep every Osnap on, but I can't work that. The tan,tan,tan circle might not be revolutionary, but it makes my life easier.

    =-Crom

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts