+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: dview twist

  1. #1
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default dview twist

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    what is the new command for dview (twist) in autocad 2007 LT?

  2. #2
    Quantum Mechanic ReMark's Avatar
    Computer Details
    ReMark's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
    Computer:
    Thinkmate
    Motherboard:
    Intel DX58SO2 LGA1366 X58
    CPU:
    Intel i7-960 Quad-core 3.20GHz 8MB cache
    RAM:
    12GB (3x4GB) PC3-106000 DDR3
    Graphics:
    nVidia Quadro 4000, 2GB GDDR5
    Primary Storage:
    150GB Velocipraptor 10,000 rpm
    Secondary Storage:
    none
    Monitor:
    Dell P24LLH - 24" wide screen LCD
    Discipline
    See details...
    ReMark's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    CAD Draftsman/Designer...chemical manufacturing.
    Discipline
    See details below.
    Details
    I work for a specialty chemical manufacturer. I do a little bit of everything from P&IDs to civil to architectural and structural.
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norwalk, CT USofA
    Posts
    40,445

    Default

    DView command missing - AutoCAD LT 2007.

    Straight from AutoDesk:

    "Because of increased perspective support within the product, the DVIEW command was removed from AutoCAD LTĀ® 2007. To work around this limitation, you can change the user coordinate system (UCS) to the angle you want, and then use the PLAN command to rotate the viewport."

    Does this help?
    "I have only come here seeking knowledge. Things they wouldn't teach me of in college." The Police

    Eat brains...gain more knowledge!

    I'm now a full member of the Society for the Promotion of Mediocrity in CAD. Standards? We don't need no stinkin' standards! Take whatever advice I offer and do the opposite.

  3. #3
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thanks for the response.
    Do you mean to simply rotate the drawing?

  4. #4
    Forum Deity
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA, USA
    Posts
    3,581

    Default

    No...don't rotate the drawing. Use the UCS command to create a new user coordinate system, usually rotating around the Z axis (although I use the Object option mostly). The use the Plan command to "twist" the drawing to get the new Y axis pointing up the screen. Your World UCS coordinates will be maintained this way.
    Last edited by lpseifert; 6th Mar 2007 at 08:56 pm.

  5. #5
    Forum Newbie
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Thank you, I'll give it a try!

  6. #6
    Full Member bleeargh's Avatar
    Computer Details
    bleeargh's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    windows 7
    CPU:
    Intel i7 2600k CPU @ 3.40GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Nvidia Geforce GTX 670
    Primary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Secondary Storage:
    1 Terrabyte
    Discipline
    Architectural
    bleeargh's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Freelance Drafter
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Using
    AutoCAD 2015
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    South Dakota - USA
    Posts
    67

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    They got rid of the DVIEW command?! Geez, I wonder at the financial loss of every business that vainly tries to keep "current"! (hardware, software, learning curve, etc) This has probably been discussed, but every time I see another yearly "improvement" to Autocad, I get angry Sorry in advance for hijacking the thread.

Similar Threads

  1. Other Than Dview
    By chance in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd Dec 2006, 08:01 pm
  2. UCS or Dview?
    By Tconn in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 1st Dec 2006, 03:06 pm
  3. rendering in dview
    By jess in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 22nd May 2006, 07:03 pm
  4. Autocad Text Crash when using Dview
    By trixxxter750 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 4th Jan 2006, 08:54 pm
  5. Dview command
    By alitasi in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5th Sep 2004, 11:05 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts