+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    33

    Default Metric Nuts & Bolts for UK

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Hi all,

    Someone out there must know of where I can get correctly drawn blocks of metric UK nuts & bolts.

    I have had a quick google over lunch, but the only one I can find are US based, and having down loaded & measured the items , find that they are not drawn correctly - ie they are imperial items scaled to a nearest size.

    In particular I am looking for:

    M5, M6, M8, M10, M12, M16 & M20 Hex head Set Screw.
    The same size for Hex Nuts & Nyloc type Hex Nuts.
    and the same size for CSK Socket Screws.

    I am also looking at dynamic blocks - but need a bit more experience!

    Thanks for your assistance,

    Nick.

  2. #2
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,507

    Default

    we've drawn our own over the years and like you, having measured others efforts, I'm glad we did.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  3. #3
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Hi Dave,

    Are these drawn as std blocks or dynamic blocks?

    Would you like to sell any on to us?

    Nick.

  4. #4
    Luminous Being tzframpton's Avatar
    Computer Details
    tzframpton's Computer Details
    Computer:
    Custom built rig
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    tzframpton's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    BIM Specialist
    Discipline
    Multi-disciplinary
    Details
    Facilities engineering, involving mechanical piping, mechanical HVAC, electrical and structural engineering.
    Using
    Revit 2015
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Dallas, TX - USA
    Posts
    7,732

    Default

    nick, go to other CAD Block sites, such as www.cben.net or www.autocadblock.com to search for things like that. Google is a good approach for trying to find 'standard' drawings in AutoCAD. i've usually hit some good luck with things like so.
    Tannar Z. Frampton | Hill & Wilkinson

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17

    Default Blocks on Fasteners Bolts And screws

    Hi

    I have also been looking for blocks on screws, bolts, through bolts and fixings without any luck. I am quite new to this so any help would be very much appreciated.

    Jerome

  6. #6
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Tannar,

    I have searched on the two sites you mention, they have so called metric bolts etc but when you check them for size they are not correct for the ISO metric types.

    Thanks anyway - I'll keep looking!

    Nick.

  7. #7
    Luminous Being dbroada's Avatar
    Computer Details
    dbroada's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows 7 Professional
    Computer:
    Dell
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon E5-1603@2,80GHz
    RAM:
    4GB
    Graphics:
    NVIDA Quadro K600
    Monitor:
    DELL 23" & SAMSUNG 21"
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    dbroada's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Design Engineer
    Discipline
    Electro/Mech
    Using
    Electrical 2013
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sussex, UK
    Posts
    5,507

    Default

    Ours are simple side & end views but M6 is our biggest.

    I have looked at making them dynamic for length but its not worth the effort for our use. They don't take too long to draw - get draughting.
    "That's it. It's one thing for a ghost to terrorize my children, but quite another for him to play my Theremin." Homer Simpson
    "Everything in drafting is logical. Except what isn’t." - Gavin Guile. (from the Lightbringer series of books by Brent Weeks)

    Dave

  8. #8
    Full Member Gary_W's Avatar
    Computer Details
    Gary_W's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Win7 Home Premium - 64 Bit
    Computer:
    HP Pavillion Elite
    CPU:
    Intel quad core i5 650@3.20GHz
    RAM:
    6 Gig
    Graphics:
    1Gb NVIDIA GeForce GT 320
    Primary Storage:
    WDC 1Tb
    Secondary Storage:
    Seagate 1Tb
    Monitor:
    Iiyama Pro 27" & Viewsonic VA2213w 22"
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Gary_W's Discipline Details
    Occupation
    Construction (Architectural Design)
    Discipline
    Architectural
    Details
    New Builds, Extension, Conversions & Alterations
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2012
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    North East U.K.
    Posts
    70

    Default Metric Bolts

    Hello Nick,

    Are these any good to you? I have attached a drawing of a few metric bolts. They are a bit basic. If you require any further size's all you need do is scale one of the existing bolts to suit.
    Attached Files

  9. #9
    Full Member
    Using
    AutoCAD LT 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    West Yorkshire UK
    Posts
    33

    Default

    Thanks Gary,

    I have now managed to convert the bolts etc from our previous cad system, bring them into Auto-cad and save them as blocks.

    When I have finalised these blocks I will try & post them on here.

    But thanks for yours, they may well come in!

    Nick.

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Computer Details
    nick bessey's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows XP Professional SP3
    Computer:
    HP XW4300 workstation
    CPU:
    Pentium 4 - 3.80 GHz
    RAM:
    2 Gb
    Graphics:
    NVIDIA 2Gb
    Primary Storage:
    150 Gb
    Monitor:
    twin 21" Lenovo LCD
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    England
    Posts
    13

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    regardless of imperial or metric I think somebody has missed the point here. I was looking for a 3D hex head for a nut or bolt and was directed to this thread. All the answers here refer to the creation of a 3rd or 1st angle projection rather than a 3D model. Has the search thread misdirected me or is there a link within these cadtutor pages that I have overlooked ?, this was the search result....

    Metric Nuts & Bolts for UK - AutoCAD Forums9 posts - 5 authors - Last post: 9 Mar 2007
    Metric Nuts & Bolts for UK AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output. ... drawing 3d bolts with threads, astrageneca, AutoCAD 3D Modelling & ...

Similar Threads

  1. Nuts and Bolts
    By The Drafter in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 28
    Last Post: 27th Sep 2009, 05:18 am
  2. drawing 3d bolts with threads
    By astrageneca in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 8th Sep 2006, 10:17 am
  3. Free IGES models of screws, nuts and bolts
    By surfpuppy2k in forum AutoCAD 3D Modelling & Rendering
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 18th Nov 2004, 11:55 am
  4. 3d bolts
    By sp in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10th Mar 2003, 01:44 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts