+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 55
  1. #21
    Senior Member hotrodz0321's Avatar
    Using
    Civil 3D 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Crystal River, Florida
    Posts
    237

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Quote Originally Posted by Alasdair View Post
    Thank you for this information. I will contact you for some back tax owed as we will assess your income for the last 5 years as being ----- your ip number is-----------

    Lesson learned
    Im not suggesting anyone try to get away with not paying taxes....theres just certain amounts that you must report and other times where it isnt necessary.......if you just do this on the side OCCATIONALLY then forget about it........as for the IRS, they can assess away, it'll be a waste of their time
    Failure is a dress rehearsal for success.

    AutoCAD Land Development Desktop (2000, 2005 & 2006 )
    Civil 3D 2008

  2. #22
    Senior Member CromCruithne's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Miserable Mississippi
    Posts
    280

    Default

    I'm currently doing some plans for a renovation and pricing has been a big issue. The clients are receiving a 50k grant from the VA for the renovations and they don't plan on putting up any of their own cash so you'd think they'd plan accordingly. Due to input from the VA I'm doing this job for not nearly enough (1500$) because I figured it would be a fairly simple job.

    HARDLY!

    Never assume you know what a job is going to be. I finally sent off the floor plans for approval after four different versions. The client has no concept of current housing and construction pricing and refuses to believe anyone who tells her differently. Instead of just doing the simple renovations required by the VA she has me drawing up plans to convert her modest 2000 sq ft house into a mini-mansion. Even though I appraised the VA of this clients desire to create a mansion with only 50k they approved the plans and now I can finally get to work on the other eight sheets.

    -Crom

  3. #23
    Full Member Skilla's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    28

    Default

    What if I start my pricing at $50 per drawing on each plan how does that sound?
    Darold Pinnock
    Designer | Draftsman


  4. #24
    Senior Member
    Using
    Architectural DT 2007
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Earth Correctional Facility, Inmate #000001
    Posts
    101

    Default

    As for the time buffer. I always do this at work. If i think something is going to take me 2 days, I tell them 4 days. 2 hours = 6 hours etc. This way when I get done early, I look like a genius. Even though I am far from it =]
    "God help you if I find any exploded hatches.... for every exploded hatch I find, I shall kill you."

  5. #25
    Full Member Skilla's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    NY, USA
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Ok I see what your saying!
    Darold Pinnock
    Designer | Draftsman


  6. #26
    Senior Member NuttZ's Avatar
    Computer Details
    NuttZ's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MS XP Professional x64
    Computer:
    TRISTAR
    Motherboard:
    TriStar Workstaion
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon X5450 @ 300GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro FX 3700 512 MB
    Primary Storage:
    2-250GB
    Monitor:
    Dual 24in Samsung's
    Using
    MEP 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    125

    Default

    I have a question...for most of you that do freelance work. Do you purchase AutoCAD for your self...or do you use your office's license on your home computer. I am looking to start freelance work and I want to use...do you use LT..or the full version?
    David

  7. #27
    Senior Member zars's Avatar
    Computer Details
    zars's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Windows Xp Profesional Service Pack 3
    Computer:
    Dell Optiplex 755
    Motherboard:
    Intel D946GZIS
    CPU:
    Intel Core2Duo 2.13 GHz
    RAM:
    1 GB Kingston DDR2 333 Mhz
    Primary Storage:
    Sata 300 Gb Western Digital
    Monitor:
    Dell 17''
    Using
    AutoCAD 2007
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    LZC, Michoacan, Mexico.
    Posts
    464

    Default

    I think you should have your own ACAD for many reasons.

    One of them what do you think that will happen if suddenly you got fired and you also had a deadline in your freelance work? you wouldn't have ACAD to continue it and then you would have lost 2 jobs in the same day.

    Another would be that the company you're working for buys ACAD licenses for its own benefit and if they catch you, you might get fired unless you get permission.

    $0.02, Alex.
    There are only 2 things which are infinite... the universe and the human stupidity.
    "Life is not the amount of breath you take, it's the moments that take your breath away"

  8. #28
    Senior Member NuttZ's Avatar
    Computer Details
    NuttZ's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    MS XP Professional x64
    Computer:
    TRISTAR
    Motherboard:
    TriStar Workstaion
    CPU:
    Intel Xeon X5450 @ 300GHz
    RAM:
    8 GB
    Graphics:
    Quadro FX 3700 512 MB
    Primary Storage:
    2-250GB
    Monitor:
    Dual 24in Samsung's
    Using
    MEP 2009
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    U.S.
    Posts
    125

    Default

    zars...do you buy the full version or LT...just to do floor plans, but I use the wall styles and such. I've always used the full version and not sure what LT really is, but I have seen that it is way cheaper.

    Also, anyone know of a really good vendor...and if you can get past versions...like 2005?
    David

  9. #29
    Senior Member nscherneck's Avatar
    Computer Details
    nscherneck's Computer Details
    Operating System:
    Various
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Portland, OR
    Posts
    136

    Default

    for me, an electrical designer, $75 per sheet would be working for just about nothing. my most common project is a tenant improvement from 2,000-10,000 sq. ft. my design for this type of project is usually 4-6 sheets and takes me 10-20 hours. i charge $50 per hour and give my clients a good idea of what my invoice will look like. usually $800-2000 depending on complexity.
    Nathan Scherneck,
    NICET IV, Fire Alarm
    NICET II, Special Hazards
    NICET I, Automatic Fire Sprinkler Layout
    Special Hazards Design, Installation, Maintenance

  10. #30
    Senior Member Vikes_Fl's Avatar
    Using
    AutoCAD 2008
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    102

    Default

    Registered forum members do not see this ad.

    Is there insurance involved?
    I'm a draftmans, who works for the Government, and I work with Engineers. They put their stamp on all of the drawings and declare it suitable for building after we go through it with a fine tooth comb. I have only two projects while I was in the private sector that I've done, It was good money, but the projects themselves weren't that plentyful.

Similar Threads

  1. 3d drawings
    By BBB in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17th Jan 2007, 07:42 pm
  2. Where have all my drawings gone?
    By pista in forum AutoCAD Beginners' Area
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 8th Mar 2006, 06:17 am
  3. Making AutoCAD drawings look like hand drawn drawings
    By ron1976uk in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20th Aug 2004, 01:17 pm
  4. Drawings from ADT
    By gcp310 in forum AutoCAD Drawing Management & Output
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 21st Apr 2004, 11:18 pm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts